Morgan Professors

A photo of Frederic Lindley Morgan


Frederic Lindley Morgan and
The Morgan Chair of Architectural Design

By William Morgan and Benjamin Hufbauer

The Frederic Lindley Morgan Chair of Architectural Design at the University of Louisville is an endowed visiting professorship which brings distinguished architects and historians to Louisville and was made possible by a shy bachelor who left his entire estate to the university for the enrichment of architectural offerings in the Allen R. Hite Art Institute.

Fred Morgan was known as the affable designer of many elegant Georgian homes that grace the streets and lanes of eastern Louisville. Besides Fred Morgan's satisfying domestic evocations of Tidewater Virginia, he worked in a variety of styles and built many major public buildings in Louisville.

Born in 1889, Morgan received his architectural training at the University of Illinois; following a tour of England, France, and Italy, he settled in Louisville where he practiced until his death in 1970. He designed a number of churches, including Highland Methodist, 2nd Presbyterian, Broadway Baptist, and St Francis-in-the-Fields, as well as such landmarks as The Pendennis Club, the Schuster Block, and Lee Terminal at Standiford Field. His love of Georgian was best expressed in academic buildings, and Morgan is responsible for Louisville Collegiate School, Norton Chapel at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, and he led the syndicate known as the Allied Architects which shaped the new campus for the University of Louisville.

Fred Morgan's most enduring legacy, however, may be the Morgan Program. Through Morgan's generosity, the Department of Fine Arts has been able to offer architectural lectures to the Louisville community, support graduate students and a postdoctoral fellow, and most importantly, augment its faculty with some of the world's leading architectural historians.

Alan Gowans was the first Morgan Professor back in 1975, and his interests in American architecture were later echoed by Michigan's Leonard Eaton and Thomas McCormick of Wheaton College. Gowans was followed by San Francisco architect Lois Langhorst. Subsequent chair holders were Harvard's John Coolidge, who taught a course on cities, and Colin McWilliam, the hagiographer of Edinburgh's buildings; Osmond Overby of the University of Missouri's subject was also historic preservation. Kentuckian Clay Lancaster addressed the state's architectural heritage, while Sidney Markman of Duke, Christopher Tadgell of Canterbury College of Art, and City University's Labelle Prussin taught about non-Western cultures (Pre-Columbian, Indian, and African, respectively). Richard Betts, of Fred Morgan's alma mater, Illinois, gave a seminar on Renaissance architecture theory, while foreign scholars Pieter Singelenberg (Utrecht), John James (Sydney), and Peter Willis (Newcastle) shared their knowledge of Dutch Modernism, Chartres Cathedral, and English gardens. Following Dr. Kleinbauer, Ã&sa; Ringbom of Findland's Ã&bo; Akademi offered a seminar on the architecture of Medieval Scandinavia. Ancient Architecture has been the subject of three recent Morgan Professors. William MacDonald (Emeritus, Smith College) gave a witty seminar on Roman architecture, Robin Rhodes (Notre Dame) gave a rich seminar on Greek Architecture, while Bob Brier (Long Island University) compellingly taught Egyptian Architecture. Modern Architecture has been evocatively taught by Dr. Alice Friedman (Wellesley) and Dr. Carol Krinsky (New York University). In Spring 2005 Dr. Jonathan Bloom (Boston College), taught a seminar on Islamic Architecture.  Patricia Waddy taught a class on 17th century Roman Palaces, Frank McCarter led students through the work of Frank Lloyd Wright, Jodi Magness led an intensive seminar on the architecture of the ancient Holy Land, and Jamie Horwitz helped students creatively explore sustainable architecture.


Morgan Professors 1975-Present

Alan Gowans, 1975

University of Victoria, Canada
Area: American

Lois Langhorst, 1981

University of North Carolina
Area: Modern

John Coolidge, 1981

Harvard University
Area: Cities, American

Colin McWilliam, 1982

Heriot-Watt University, Scotland
Area: Historic Preservation

Clay Lancaster, 1983

Independent Scholar
Area: Kentucky Architecture

Sidney D. Markman, 1984

Duke University
Area: Pre-Columbian, Spanish

Leonard K. Eaton, 1985

University of Michigan
Area: Modern, F. L. Wright

Christopher Tadgell, 1985

Canterbury College of Art, England
Area: French, Indian

Pieter Singelenberg, 1986

University of Utrecht, Netherlands
Area: Modern

John James, 1987

Sydney University, Australia
Area: Gothic

Labelle Prussin, 1988

City University of New York
Area: African, Vernacular

Osmund Overby, 1989

University of Missouri
Area: Historic Preservation

Thomas J. McCormick

Wheaton College
Area: American, Modern

Peter Willis, 1992

University of Newcastle, England
Area: English

Richard Betts, 1994

University of Illinois
Area: Renaissance

Eugene Kleinbauer, 1995

Indiana University
Area: Byzantine

Åsa Ringbom, 1996

Åbo Akademi, Finland
Area: Medieval

Elizabeth C. Stone, 1997

State University of New York at Stony Brook
Area: Ancient

Max Bond, 1999

Davis Brody Bond Architects, New York
Area: Architecture

William McDonald, 1999

Smith College
Area: Roman

Alice Friedman, Spring 2001

Wellesley College
Area: Modern

Carol Krinsky, Fall 2001

New York University
Area: Modern

Robin Rhodes, 2003

University of Notre Dame
Area: Greek and Roman Architecture,
Classical Art and Archaeology,
and Ancient Corinth

Bob Brier, 2004

C.W. Post Campus of Long Island University
Area: Philosophy and Egyptology;
ancient Egyptian hieroglyphs, civilization, and mummies.

Jonathan Bloom, 2005

Norma Jean Calderwood University Professor of Islamic and Asian Art,
Boston College
Area: Islamic Architecture

Patricia Waddy, Spring 2006

Syracuse University
Area: Baroque

Robert McCarter, Spring 2007

Washington University, St. Louis
Area: Modern

Jodi Magness, Fall 2007

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Area: Ancient

Jamie Horwitz, Spring 2009

Iowa State University
Area: Sustainable Architecture 

Dana Buntrock, Spring 2010

University of California, Berkeley
Areas: Japanese Architecture, construction practice

Ed Hamilton, Spring 2011

University of Louisville
Area: Public Art

Dianne Harris, Spring 2012

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Area: Architecture and Urbanism

Hazel Dodge, Spring 2013

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Area: Classical Archaeology

Georg Leidenberger, Spring 2014

Professor, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana
Cuajimalpa-Mexico City, Mexico
Areas: Modern Architecture, Urban Politics and Social Movements