Faculty Senate

Information for the Faculty of the University of Louisville.


Alt Text



The Faculty Senate is the officially-recognized governance group for all faculty members at the University of Louisville. As such, the Faculty Senate participates in the shared governance process with the University Administration, the Staff Senate and the Student Government Association.


In its advisory role, the Faculty Senate reviews University policies and budgets, proposed academic programs, institutes and centers, and any documents affecting faculty, and makes recommendations to the Administration on issues of concern for the welfare of the faculty, as a whole.


The Faculty Senate consists of sixty-four (64) members, each elected by their unit. Membership is open to all faculty members. Each unit is allotted a number of representatives according to a formula determined in the bylaws of the Faculty Senate. Faculty Senators serve three year terms.


Part-time faculty are recognized as vital members of the academic community, and have the opportunity to serve on the Senate's Part-time Faculty Committee.




June 5, 2024

3 P.M.

Clinical Translational Research (CTR) Building 

505 South Hancock Street

(Corner of Hancock & Muhammad Ali)

Louisville, KY 40202




Chair - Eugene Mueller

852. 5811

Vice Chair - Sherri Wallace

852. 4432

Parliamentarian - Guillermo Rougier

Faculty Grievance Officer - Enid Trucios-Haynes


Senate Office - MITC 050

Coordinator - Gretchen Henry