A job well done

Congratulations to faculty, staff and students on recent recognition.

American Academy of Periodontics Award

Dr. Douglas C. Lowy has received the Award for Outstanding Teaching and Mentoring in Periodontics from the American Academy of Periodontics. Read more.

American College of Prosthodontists Awards of Distinction

Through its annual awards program, the American College of Prosthodonists (ACP) honors individuals whose contributions to the specialty or to the College are outstanding and substantial. Dr. Gerald Grant will receive the ACPClinician/Researcher Award. He will be formally recognized during the Annual Awards and President's Dinner on Friday, Oct. 7 at the ACP's 46th Annual Session in San Diego.

Dr. Hupp named President of the American Academy of Oral Medicine

Increasing awareness of the specialty of oral medicine will be an important focus for Dr. Wendy S. Hupp, associate professor and interim chair of the Department of General Dentistry and Oral Medicine. She recently took the reins as president of the American Academy of Oral Medicine (AAOM) during its annual meeting in Atlanta, Georgia, April 4-9. Read more.

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research Funding

Dr. Donald Demuth has received NIDCR funding for a two-year NIDCR study entitled, Nanoparticle delivery vehicles targeting P. gingivalis. In his proposal, Demuth explains that the successful completion of this project will generate new mechanisms to deliver higher localized concentrations of the BAR peptide to the appropriate niche in the oral cavity (or microbiome) for longer durations than can be achieved with the transient application of free peptide. He envisions the delivery of BAR by surface-modified and/or sustained release NPs will be useful for limiting re-colonization of the oral cavity by P. gingivalis after prophylaxis or treatment and may also increase the effectiveness of BAR against established P. gingivalis biofilms.

Southeast Academy of Prosthodontics Scholarship

Dr. Hunter Dawson has received a $5000 scholarship from the Southeast Academy of Prosthodontics. Congratulations to Dr. Dawson, who will become an important contributor to the profession as an active member of the Southeastern Academy of Prosthodontics.

Straumann Grant

The Oral Health and Rehabilitation Department’s Division of Prosthodontics has been awarded a $50,000 grant from Straumann. This grant supports an innovative program for a Fellow in Digital Dentistry. The program is directed in conjunction with the graduate periodontics and prosthodontics programs, the ITI Scholarship Program, and the Digital Dentistry Education Center within the department of Oral Health and Rehabilitation. The intent of the program is to promote the didactic and clinical training of new generation of dentists in the emerging field of digital implant dentistry with focus on the educational component, a unique aspect of this proposed program. 

University of Louisville Awards

UofL’s Office of the President recognized its 2016 Outstanding Performance Award and Supervisor of the Year Award recipients this summer. The dental school's Jan Mudd was honored as Supervisor of the Year and Audra French was honored with the Outstanding Staff Performance Award. Read the complete story.

This fall, the Office of the President will recognize outstanding faculty. Dr. Richard Lamont has been selected for the 2016 Outstanding Scholarship, Research and Creative Activity Award for Basic and Applied Sciences. Dr. Lamont is the third faculty member from the Department of Oral Immunity and infectious Disease to be recognized for this award. Congratulations!


Sept. 2, 2016