2021 OVSOT Student Award Winners and Presenters

Congratulations to the 2021 OVSOT student award winners and presenters! The Ohio Valley Chapter of the Society of Toxicology holds an annual meeting to network with members and contribute to the development of future toxicologists by interacting with students and trainees. Below are the 2021 awardees and presenters. 

Postdoctoral Student Platform 

Ana Ferragut Cardoso- States Lab
 "miR-186 Overexpression Suppresses BUB1 and CDC27 in Immortalized Human Keratinocytes"

Alexandra Nail - States Lab
"Reduced DNA Damage Response Activation in Keratinocytes Chronically Exposed to Toxicologically Relevant Concentrations of Sodium Arsenite"

Doctoral Student Platform 

Idoia Meaza- 1st place Doctoral Student Platform Award and becomes the Student Representative for the OVSOT chapter to the Society of Toxicology- Wise lab
"Particulate Hexavalent Chromium Causes DNA Repair Inhibition Leading to Increased Chromosome Instability in Human Bronchial Epithelial Cells"

Kennedy Walls- Heins Lab
"Heterocyclic amines induce changes in glucose production and insulin signaling in human hepatocytes"

Tox on the Clock 

Jennifer Toyoda- 1st place - Wise lab
"Securin Disruption and Chromosome Instability Persist After Chronic Hexavalent Chromium Exposure"

Haiyan Lu- 2nd place- Wise lab
"Particulate Hexavalent Chromium Inhibits Homologous Recombination Repair in Rat Lung"

Mariam Habil- Participation Award-Hein lab
"N-acetyltransferase 1 (NAT1) allele NAT1*14B phenotype is substrate-dependent"

Oral Posters

Cory Kucera- Alex Carll lab
"Flavored E-cigarette Aerosols Induce Cardiopulmonary Toxicity in Mice"