Two Medical Faculty Named 2015 HSC Faculty/Staff Ally Award Winners

Two medical faculty members who are actively working to infuse LGBT-DSD competencies into the medical school curriculum have been named 2015 HSC Faculty/Staff Ally Award winners by the LGBT Center.

Stacie Steinbock, director of the LGBT Center's Health Sciences Center (HSC) Satellite Office, surprised Drs. Amy Holthouser and Susan Sawning with their awards October 12 during a LGBT Health and Wellness Certificate Series workshop.

Both Holthouser and Sawning are founding members of the steering committee for the eQuality project, an effort that has brought national attention to the University of Louisville and made it the first in the country to infuse the LGBT competencies developed by the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC) into the curriculum. The year-long effort has meant long hours of strategy sessions for Sawning and Holthouser, and Steinbock credits both with the success of the effort. "They both believe deeply this is the right thing to do. Amy and Susan have worked tirelessly to help us make this vision a reality, and are champions for the eQuality project."

Additionally, Sawning serves on a national AAMC committee dedicated to promoting the organization's newly drafted LGBT competencies to other medical colleges. And Houlthouser participated this year in the LGBT Center's "Making Change" effort, which won her a spot in the line-up for PINK, its annual student-run drag show. She has also become a valuable resource to transgender community members who are trying to access competent healthcare.

The LGBT Center first introduced Ally Awards in 2008 to honor the work of faculty and staff who have helped create an environment of inclusion for LGBT people. Candidates for the award can include any U of L faculty or staff member- LGBT, straight, cisgender, questioning, or those whose orientation/gender identity is unknown- who is making positive decisions and speaking out for LGBT people at U of L. This is the first year the Center has given separate awards for those working at the HSC. Past winners include:

2008- Provost Shirley Willihganz and Vice Provost for Diversity Mordean Taylor-Archer
2009- Nancy Theriot and Julie Onnembo
2010- Michael Anthony
2011- George Howe
2012- Michelle Clemons
2013- David Wiegman
2014- Laine Lopez

Professor Sam Marcosson of the Law School was the ally award honoree from the Belknap Campus this year.

LGBT Center - Belknap

Cultural & Equity Centers

120 E. Brandeis Ave.

University of Louisville

Louisville, Kentucky 40292

Phone:(502) 852-0696

Office Hours

Diversity & Equity Centers on Belknap Campus are open 
M-F 9am-5pm

HSC LGBT Center is open
M-F 9am-5pm

Social Media

LGBT Center - HSC

500 S. Preston St.

A Building, Room 209C/D

Louisville, Kentucky 40292

Phone:(502) 852-5861