Law Professor Named 2015 Faculty/Staff Ally Award Winner

Law School Professor Sam Marcosson was named the LGBT Center's 2015 Faculty/Staff Ally Award winner October 1 during the Pride Week keynote address. Marcosson has been a faculty member sine 1996, and in that time founded one of the university's first LGBT student groups, Lambda Law Caucus. His research and writing has concentrated on constitutional law (especially the Fourteenth Amendment), and the civil rights issues facing LGBT people. He has served on the board of directors for the National Lesbian and Gay Legal Association and the Coordinating Committee for the Fairness Campaign, Louisville's long-standing LGBT civil rights organization.

Former student Rebecca O'Neil submitted one of multiple nominations for her former professor. "Sometimes I think Sam is unaware of his own incredible impact on students. I think he doesn't know how to be anything other than the brilliant, caring, wildly intelligent teacher that he is. He is not in academia because it is a comfortable or status career- he does what he does because he truly believes in his students and their ability to make our community and our country a better place." Christopher McDavid agreed. "He lifts us all up in what he does. I am hard-pressed to think of a better ally than my teacher, my colleague, my friend."

Marcosson was surprised to be honored. "I am so grateful, and flattered, to receive the Ally Award. As a teacher, my reward comes in seeing the work our students do when they put their training and talents to use to make a difference."

The LGBT Center introduced the award in 2008 to honor the work of faculty and staff who have helped to create an environment of inclusion for LGBT people. Candidates for the award can include any U of L faculty or staff member- LGBT, straight, cisgender, questioning, or those whose orientation/gender identity is unknown- who is making positive decisions and speaking for LGBT people at U of L. Past winners include:

2008 Provost Shirley Willihganz and Vice Provost Mordean Taylor-Archer
2009 Nancy Theriot and Julie Onnembo
2010 Michael Anthony
2011 George Howe
2012 Michelle Clemons
2013 David Wiegman
2014 Laine Lopez

LGBT Center - Belknap

Cultural & Equity Centers

120 E. Brandeis Ave.

University of Louisville

Louisville, Kentucky 40292

Phone:(502) 852-0696

Office Hours

Diversity & Equity Centers on Belknap Campus are open 
M-F 9am-5pm

HSC LGBT Center is open
M-F 9am-5pm

Social Media

LGBT Center - HSC

500 S. Preston St.

A Building, Room 209C/D

Louisville, Kentucky 40292

Phone:(502) 852-5861