2020 LGBT Center Advocate Awards

Every year, the LGBT Center works to create a welcoming and inclusive campus community for LGBTQ+ students, faculty, and staff. However, we cannot achieve this goal on our own. We need the help of others to bring this goal into fruition. Therefore, every year, we ask the students, faculty, and staff served by the LGBT Center to submit their nominations for UofL LGBT Center Advocate Award. This award—presented annually—seeks to honor faculty and/or staff who work alongside us every day to build a more inclusive and welcoming campus community. These individuals make a positive impact on our campus through their advocacy for LGBTQ+ people campus-wide. Please join us in celebrating our 2020 LGBT Center Advocate Award winners. All of three of this year’s winners are listed below. 

  • Dr. Emma Sterrett-Hong, Associate Dean of Equity and Inclusion—Kent School of Social Work, Associate Professor—Kent School of Social Work, & CFT Director (Belknap Award Winner)
  • Sharon Gordon, Student Success Coordinator—School of Medicine Student Affairs (HSC Award Winner)
  • Jessica Petrey, Associate Director of Clinical Services—University Libraries, Kornhauser (HSC Award Winner)

Want to learn more about this year’s winners? Please visit using the following link: https://louisville.edu/lgbt/2020-lgbt-center-advocate-awards