U of L LGBT Center Advocate Award

2021 LGBT Center Advocate Award presented to Luke Buckman and Sarah McKinney 

Congratulations to Luke Buckman and Sarah McKinney who were both recently awarded the 2021 LGBT Center Advocate Award for the Belknap and HSC campuses, respectively.  Each year this award is presented to honor a faculty and/or staff member who has helped to build a more inclusive and welcoming campus community, and has made a positive impact through their advocacy for LGBTQ+ people campus-wide.

For more information, visit the LGBT Center Advocate Award presentation video, here.

Luke Buckman is the assistant director for student programming and development in the university honors program. He is known for going out of his way to create a safe space for LGBTQ+ students feel seen and valued. He states, “I am so incredibly honored to be awarded the 2021 LGBT Center Advocate Award.” Later, he went on to mention that “one of the things I try to center in the work that I do is to focus on listening to allow people to be heard, seen, and acknowledged for who they are.”

Sarah McKinney is a Technical Specialist, Sr. in the Pediatrics Department. She has restarted the UofL LGBTQ+ Faculty Staff Association which now has 100+ members after being inactive for 12+ years. She is the chair of the Transgender Wellness Summit and one of the co-founders on Kentuckiana Transgender Support Group. Additionally, she has helped organized various events and mentor several transgender individuals to help them through their transition. She states, “the LGBT Center helped me during one of the darkest times of my life and that’s part of what drives me to do the things I do in the community because I know how bad it hurts to be a part of population that is not accepted by everybody... if I can do anything to lessen the pain, I am going to do it.”

While working to create a welcoming campus community for LGBTQ+ students, it’s important to celebrate and recognize the faculty and staff advocates who have helped along the way. For this reason, the students, faculty, and staff served by the LGBT Center announce their annual UofL LGBT Center Advocate Award. Through these awards—presented each year during an LGBT Center event--we seek to honor those faculty and staff who work alongside us every day to build a more inclusive and welcoming campus community. 

Candidates for the award can include any faculty or staff member—LGBTQ+, straight, questioning, or those whose gender identity or sexual orientation is unknown to you—who is making a positive impact and advocating for LGBTQ+ people on our campus.

Think of the decision-makers or unsung heroes that you’d like to honor for their dedication, and tell us why you think they should be recognized using this form. 

Previous Faculty/Staff Ally Award Recipients: 

Year Belknap Recipient HSC Recipient
2020 Dr. Emma Sterrett-Hong - Associate Professor, CFT Program Director, Associate Dean of Equity and Inclusion

Sharon Gordon, Student Success Coordinator

Jessica Petrey, Associate Director - Clinical Services, Kornhauser Library

2019 Dr. Kaila Story, Professor, Pan-African Studies & Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Departments, Audre Lorde Endowed Chair in Race, Class, Gender and Sexuality
2018 Geri Morgan, Project Manager for Student Services, Dean of Students Office Dr. Suzanne Kingery, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Dr. Eli Pendleton, Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
2017 Julie Weber, former Director, Campus Housing Karan Chavez, Chief of Staff to Dean of School of Medicine
Dr. Craig Blakely, Dean of the School of Public Health and Information Sciences 
2016 Diane Whitlock,  Executive Assistant to Senior Assistant Vice Provost of Diversity & Equity Dr. Toni Ganzel, Dean of the School of Medicine
2015 Sam Marcosson, Professor, Brandeis School of Law Susan Sawning, Director of Medical Education Research, Office of Medical Education
Dr. Amy Holthouser, Associate Dean for Medical Education
2014 Laine Lopez, former Program Coodinator, Hispanic and Latino Initiatives, Cultural Center
2013 Dr. David Wiegman, former Vice President for Health Affairs, Vice Dean for Academic Affairs, and Physiology professor Dr. David Wiegman, former Vice President for Health Affairs, Vice Dean for Academic Affairs, and Physiology professor
2012 Michelle Clemons, former Assistant Dean of Students
2011 George Howe, Director, Red Barn Special Programs
2010 Dr. Michael Anthony, former Director, Cultural Center 
2009 Dr. Nancy Theriot, former Department Chair Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Department
Julie Onnembo, Assistant Director, Student Involvement
2008 Dr. Shirley Willinghanz, former University Provost
 Dr. Mordean Taylor-Archer, former Vice Provost for Diversity and International Affairs 


********************If you are having trouble with the form, please hold the shift button while you click 'refresh'. If this does not work, please email your responses to the following email: lgbt@louisville.edu ********************

LGBT Center - Belknap

Cultural & Equity Centers

120 E. Brandeis Ave.

University of Louisville

Louisville, Kentucky 40292

Phone:(502) 852-0696

Office Hours

Diversity & Equity Centers on Belknap Campus are open 
M-F 9am-5pm

HSC LGBT Center is open
M-F 9am-5pm

Social Media

LGBT Center - HSC

500 S. Preston St.

A Building, Room 209C/D

Louisville, Kentucky 40292

Phone:(502) 852-5861