Women's Empowerment Luncheon 2014

Alice K Houston

2014 Women's Empowerment Luncheon • November 13th

“Do You Have What it Takes?”

Alice K. Houston is President & CEO of Houston-Johnson, Inc., a minority-owned transportation company. A preferred supplier of material fulfillment, sequencing, assembling, and logistic services, HJI was nominated by the Ford Motor Company and won the 2011 TriState Minority Supplier Development Council (TSMSDC) “Supplier of the Year Award”.

Houston has a long and successful association and career at the University of Louisville having served as Assistant and subsequently Associate Director of Financial Aid. She is a graduate of Baldwin Wallace College and the University of Louisville.

Houston enjoys working in the community and serves on several boards including the 55,000 Degrees and 15K Degree Initiative, Simmons College of Kentucky, Louisville Arena Authority, the James Graham Brown Foundation, the Jefferson County Public Education Foundation, TARC and the Ky. Chamber of Commerce.

Open to all. Admission: $50 /person $400 /table of 8

Charge cards, checks and IUT’s accepted. Student sponsorship encouraged.


Tachau Award Winner

Attorney Jerry Bowles (center) is the recipient of the 2014 Tachau Gender Equity
Award. He is flanked by members of the UofL Commission on the Status of
Women, Heather Fox, Mimi Bell and Jeanne Guerreo; Chris Owens, Director-
Louisville Metro Office for Women; Valerie Casey, Director-UofL Women’s Center;
Attorney David Tachau and Dr. Ann Larson, President of COSW.
Nichols Award Winner
Nichols Award recipients, Rachel Gramer and Kelly Njine Mouapi proudly
display their award certificates at the luncheon. They are pictured with Yvette
Nichols, Phyllis M. Webb, UofL Women’s Center; Joan Dantoni, UofL English
Department and Dr. Mordean Taylor-Archer, Vice Provost for Diversity &
International Affairs.

Empowerment Award Winner


The Women 4 Women Organization received the 2014 Women Center

Empowerment Award at the luncheon. Pictured is Misty Cruse, Managing Director of the
W4W Board holding the red “Dancing Lady”. Others in the photo (pictured left-
to-right, members of the UofL Women4Women student board, Jamieca Jones,
Whitney L. Wilson, Tailore McIennan and Tiarra Clark; W4W members, Laura
Douglas, immediate past chair; Carolle Jones-Clay, Valerie M. Casey, Director-
UofL Women’s Center; Misty Cruse; Tawana Edwards, Chair, W4W Board; Amy
Berge, Victoria Buster, Ashley Wimsett, and Joyce Seymour.