Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News Student Notables

Student Notables

by UofL Today last modified May 15, 2013 03:50 PM

A roundup of notable student activity and awards compiled from campus submissions.

School of Dentistry

Dental hygiene student Hollie Brookman and dental student Tyler Jury received scholarships to attend the Annual Infection Prevention & Safety Symposium June 13‒15 in San Diego, Calif. The scholarships are the first the Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention has awarded. OSAP said it selected the School of Dentistry for its inaugural awards because of the school’s administration and faculty support in the area of teaching infection control and prevention. ULSD incorporates infection prevention curriculum in multiple courses. ULSD also evaluates written preclinical, clinical and laboratory protocols to ensure adequate asepsis, infection and hazard control and hazardous waste disposal.

International Study

Heather Stewart, a biology and philosophy major from Covington, Ky., has received a Michaela Farnum Memorial Scholarship to study in San José, Costa Rica, this summer. Stewart will be participating in the International Studies Abroad’s program at Veritas University. ISA is an affiliated partner of UofL’s International Center.


Seniors Chris Vincent and Aaron Weathers represented UofL’s Malcolm X debate squad at the National Debate Tournament this spring and placed with the top 78 teams — out of more than 300 — in the country. After finishing their preliminary rounds with a record of five wins and three losses, Vincent and Weathers advanced to the elimination rounds, where they finished 17th in the nation. Squad member Doug Lusco also received the Cross Examination Debate Association National Debate Scholar (cum laude) Award of Excellence.

Quiz Bowl

The UofL Quiz Bowl Division I team had a second straight undefeated league season. Its season record was 23-0 and it won 45 straight league matches. The team members were Austin Brownlow (electrical and computer engineering major), Alex Clifton (English and humanities major), Bryan Enders (physics major), Bobby Fiske (French and political science major), Nick Hammond (chemical engineering major), Lindsey Hastings (biology major), Chase Martin (chemical engineering major), Ramapriya Rangaraju (computer engineering and computer science major), Matt Robeson (chemical engineering major), David Slaughter (history major), Jherin Tinker (political science major) and Colton Wilson (art history, English, humanities and women’s and gender studies major). Division I team members are students with more than 60 hours.

The Division II team also finished first in the league with a 15-1 record. Team members included Jacob Graham (psychology major), Emma Johnson (English, French and humanities major), Jordan Klare (anthropology and history major), Zoe Knight (psychology major), Sreyas Rangaraju (computer engineering and computer science major), Ann-Claude Rakotoniaina (biology major) and Megan Seldon (English and humanities major). Division II team members have fewer than 60 hours.


Brownlow and Hammond were named to the Division I All-League Team and Johnson was named to the Division II All-League Team.

PDM Pharmaceuticals

Student entrepreneurs from the College of Business took top honors in the graduate business concept category at Idea State U, a statewide business plan contest in April organized by Kentucky Science and Technology Corp. The team, PDM Pharmaceuticals, won $5,500 at the competition for a business plan for PlaqAway, a toothpaste additive that appears to kill the bacteria causing gum disease. UofL dentistry professor Don Demuth developed the additive and the team has the option to license the product through UofL’s Office of Technology Transfer. Team members, all entrepreneurship MBA students, were Shalin Shah, Hunter Gerlach, Justin Breitenstein, Melissa Bagley and Mary Thorsby.

Saddle Seat Team

The saddle seat team took top honors at the Intercollegiate Saddle Seat Riding Association’s spring horse show at Kentucky Horse Park in April. The UofL riders won the 2013 Cumulative Year-end Championship Team Award at the event. The association’s Rider of the Year awards went to Kristen Smith, named champion senior, and Jenny McGowan, named reserve champion senior. The state riding association gives college students a chance to show American Saddlebred, Morgan, Arabian and other trotting horses without having to own a horse.

Doctoral Award

Kent School of Social Work doctoral student Laneshia McCord will be honored Nov. 1 with the Group for the Advancement of Doctoral Education’s Student Award for Leadership and Service. The presentation will be in Dallas at the Annual Program Meeting of the Council on Social Work Education. McCord is due to defend her dissertation this summer and complete her doctoral studies.

Document Actions
Personal tools