Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News November Faculty/Staff Notables

November Faculty/Staff Notables

by UofL Today last modified Nov 22, 2010 05:29 PM

Campus-submitted faculty and staff notable activity.

Awards / Honors

Ken Davis, director, Vogt Engineering Center, was recognized as a distinguished alumnus of Eastern Kentucky University this fall.

Jacek Zurada, professor, electrical and computer engineering, recently received an honorary doctorate from Sichuan University, Chengdu, China, for his pioneering contributions to machine intelligence and soft computing. Sichuan University is one of the leading universities in China.

Zdravko Salipur, doctoral student in mechanical engineering, received a fellowship from the National Institute for Disability and Rehabilitation Research for work he is doing on wheelchair transportation safety for his PhD dissertation. Salipur will use a test dummy that is seated in a wheelchair on a TARC bus while the driver executes both normal and emergency driving maneuvers. The dummy will have accelerometers and load cells attached to it to monitor what a rider would experience. He will also use a computer model to do the same simulation. Salipur's research piggybacks on other research Speed School is conducting with TARC.


On Nov. 5, UofL and Bellarmine University received $148,570 from the Council on Postsecondary Education to provide professional development for 25 to 30 general and special middle grades educators and instructional coaches. The goal of the "Collaborative Teacher Training in Reading/Language Arts" is to increase teacher knowledge of the common core standards in reading/language arts and facilitate increased use of research-based strategies for instruction and learning assessment. Assistant professor Nicole Fenty, teaching and learning, College of Education and Human Development, is principal investigator. The project starts in January.

Professional Organizations

Julie Hermann, executive senior associate athletic director, has been elected the incoming president of the National Association of Collegiate Women Athletics Administrators. The post requires a three-year commitment. Hermann will serve one year each as president elect, president and past president.


David Imbroscio, professor, political science, co-edited "Critical Urban Studies: New Directions," published this month by SUNY Press. Imbroscio also wrote an essay in the book titled, "Keeping it Critical: Resisting the Allure of the Mainstream."

Document Actions
Personal tools