Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News May Notables

May Notables

by UofL Today last modified May 28, 2014 03:16 PM

Faculty and staff receiving honors in their fields and communities.

In an article published May 20, 2014, in Journal of Transcultural Nursing, University of Louisville School of Nursing assistant professor Valerie Lander McCarthy, PhD, and others explore whether a broader definition of successful aging could positively influence research, clinical practice and health policy in the United States and China.

Biology professor Lee Dugatkin received back-to-back honors in May when he was selected as a fellow in the Animal Behavior Society and as a distinguished lecturer in Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society. The Animal Behavior Society, which promotes the study of animal behavior, described Dugatkin on its website as “best known to us as an animal behaviorist with research interests in the evolution of social behavior. Other important contributions to animal behavior include his prolific production of books for animal behaviorists as well as having also been a spokesperson for animal behavior and evolution in his tireless efforts at outreach.” For Sigma Xi, Dugatkin will visit chapters from July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2017 discussing his work. In addition, Dugatkin, a distinguished university scholar, was interviewed for the April 21 public radio show “BackStory with the American History Guys” for an Earth Day-related program about ideas of extinction throughout U.S. history. Dugatkin, author of “Mr. Jefferson and the Giant Moose: Natural History in Early America,” discussed how extinction played into an 18th century debate about American biological inferiority. Hear the segment.

Department of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery's Dr. John Chaney won the JCTSE and TSDA CT Surgery Resident Top Gun Competition at this year's annual AATS conference in April.

M. Cynthia Logsdon, PhD, nursing professor, was selected as one of 100 Alumni Legacy Leaders by Indiana University School of Nursing during its Centennial year. This award recognizes exceptional contributions to nursing through education, clinical practice, leadership and research. Logsdon will be honored June 21 as part of the 100th anniversary Celebration weekend.

Carlee Lehna, PhD, School of Nursing, received the Burn Prevention Award at the American Burn Association meeting in March. In addition to an award plaque, she received $1,500. Lehna's paper co-authored with Dr. John Myers (Pediatrics) titled "Effects of transfers between short-term hospitals on costs and length of stay for pediatric burn patients" was featured as one of the top six papers of the year.

Whitney Nash, PhD, School of Nursing, was selected to be a fellow in the Duke University-Johnson & Johnson Nurse Leadership 2014-2015 Program, which took place in May. Fellows receive cutting edge leadership and management training geared specifically to nurse leaders who are ready for advancement and have a passion for improved care for their patients and their community.

Two UofL academic advisors were honored by NACADA, the National Academic Advising Association. John Richardson, executive director of the University Honors Program, was selected for an Outstanding Advising Award-Faculty Academic Advising, and Tony Robinson, coordinator in Undergraduate Affairs, was selected for an Outstanding Advising Award-Primary Advising Role. Both Richardson and Robinson were also recipients of the 2013-2014 Provost’s Awards for Exemplary Advising. Established in 1983, the NACADA Annual Awards Program for Academic Advising honors individuals and institutions making significant contributions to the improvement of academic advising.

Jeffrey Skinner, UofL professor of creative writing and English, poet and playwright, was awarded a 2014 Fellowship in Creative Arts-Poetry from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for men and women who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts.

Gerald S. Zavorsky, PhD, associate professor, department of health and sport sciences, recently published “The effect of increased physical activity on pulmonary diffusing capacity in unfit women” in the journal Experimental Physiology and “Interstitial lung edema triggered by marathon running” in the journal Respiratory Physiology & Neurobiology.

Mark Leach, PhD, professor with the department of educational and counseling psychology, counseling and college student personnel, received the APA Presidential Citation Award at the 2014 American Psychological Association (APA) Counseling Psychology Conference.

Jean Wolph, director for the Louisville Writing Project and network director for the Kentucky Writing Project, was named Kentucky Council of Teachers of English/Language Arts College Teacher of the Year.

Jason Osborne, professor and chair of the department of educational and counseling psychology, counseling and college student personnel, published his fourth book, “Best Practices in Logistic Regression” (SAGE Publications, 2014).

Kathryn Whitmore, professor and endowed chair for early childhood education, was awarded $4,000 from the UofL Ideas to Action Initiative, Supporting Undergraduate iNnovation (SUN) Grant. Her proposal, “Moving from Inquiry to Advocacy and Action: Increasing Progress Toward Graduating Culturally Responsive Teachers,” will engage seven junior and senior faculty members in reflection and research to assess CEHD elementary and English teacher preparation students’ development as critical thinkers and culturally responsive educators.

Steve Swan, instructor with the department of middle and secondary education, presented at the 2014 Kentucky Society for Technology in Education (KySTE). KySTE is the state conference for the International Society for Technology in Education, and focuses on practitioner issues at the state level. In addition, Swan and Melissa Shirley, assistant professor with the department of middle and secondary education, served as judges for Jefferson County Public School’s annual RoboRumble Robotics Competition that is hosted by the Student Technology Leadership Program (STLP).

Have you published or received an honor for your work recently? Let us know here.

Document Actions
Personal tools