Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News June Briefs

June Briefs

by UofL Today last modified Jun 11, 2012 09:38 AM

Submitted faculty/staff recent notable activity.

Jacek M. Zurada, professor, electrical and computer engineering, delivered an invited plenary lecture on “Non-negative Matrix Factorization for Pattern Analysis” at the 22nd Italian Workshop on Neural Networks May 17-19 in Vietri sul Mare, Italy. Tolga Ensari, post-doctoral researcher, and Jan Chorowski, doctoral student, both at the J.B. Speed School of Engineering, co-authored the paper.

Zurada also delivered an invited lecture at Seminario Scientifico on May 21 at the University Reggio Calabria, Italy, and he presented six seminars to the University of Catania School of Engineering faculty and students on topics ranging from publishing in engineering, to learning theory to advanced methods for pattern recognition. His activities were part of a Fulbright Specialist assignment in Italy.

Brent Stucker, professor, industrial engineering, has received the 2012 SME Industry Achievement Award for his work as the chairman of the ASTM International F42 committee.  SME’s Rapid Technologies & Additive Manufacturing Community established the award in 2008 to recognize a person, team or company for outstanding accomplishments that have had a significant impact within the additive manufacturing industry or in any industry through the application of additive manufacturing technologies. The award recognizes achievements that have been implemented in a commercial/industrial environment rather than research investigative work.

Ruth Carrico, PhD, RN, FSHEA, CIC, associate professor, infectious diseases, has received the prestigious Carole DeMille Achievement Award from the Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology. Carrico’s “work to educate, mentor and support the infection prevention community is extraordinary. Her leadership will have a lasting impact on our profession,” said APIC 2012 President Michelle Farber, RN, CIC. The award is APIC’s highest. The organization gives it annually.

Carrico delivered two sessions at the APIC 2012 Annual Conference. On June 4, she presented “One Stick at a Time: A Toolkit for an Effective Healthcare Personnel Immunization Program,” and on June 5 she presented “Prolonged Use of Respiratory Protection: How Does it Affect the Healthcare Worker?”

Blaine Hudson, dean, College of Arts and Sciences, received the Louisville League of Women Voters’ Outstanding Citizens Award. The league honored him recently for his continuing contributions to local and regional racial and social justice organizations, saying that he has “provided perspectives on African and African American history that have empowered African Americans and energized disenfranchised people to be more engaged citizens.”

Hudson is chair of a working group that Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer formed recently to determine what services and programs exist to reduce violence in western Louisville and rebuild neglected neighborhoods in that area. Next steps will be to gather input from people who live and work in the area and develop action plans to address the issues of violence and derelict neighborhoods. Tad Hughes, UofL Southern Police Institute; David James, UofL Police Department and Metro Council representative for parts of western Louisville; and Ricky Jones, professor, Pan-African Studies, also are on the working group.

Submit items for next month's briefs here.

Document Actions
Personal tools