Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News February 2013 Notables

February 2013 Notables

by UofL Today last modified Feb 13, 2013 09:37 AM

Submitted notable activity of faculty and staff.

Amir Amini, professor and endowed chair in bioimaging, has been selected to represent IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society as a distinguished lecturer. Amini’s technical specialty is cardiovascular imaging and biomedical image processing. According to EMBS, the appointment recognizes Amini’s outstanding contributions in both research and education to the EMBS fields of interest. His appointment started Jan. 1 and ends Dec. 31, 2014. EMBS distinguished lecturers travel worldwide and provide lectures for local EMBS chapters and conferences. They are ambassadors of the society.

Christopher Greenwell, associate professor, Department of Health and Sport Sciences, and Jason Simmons, PhD graduate of UofL and assistant professor, University of Tampa, conducted a study on fan-family conflict. Few of these studies have been done. The results of their research were featured in the January issue of Psychology Today.

Blake Haselton, education dean; Ann Larson, education vice dean; Harrie Buecker, assistant to the dean for Teacher Education Partners; and Christine Sherretz, assistant professor, Department of Early Childhood and Elementary Education, were invited to present to the Education Professional Standards Board, and the Pritchard Committee Team on Teacher Effectiveness. Their topic was the UofL clinical model of teacher preparation.

Craig Hochbein, assistant professor, Department of Leadership, Foundations and Human Resource Education, was cited in the IU News Room article, “Study: Students from High Schools with Improving ISTEP Scores Perform No Better on ACT Exams.”

Mark Leach, professor and assistant chair, Department of Education and Counseling Psychology, Counseling, and College Student Personnel, accepted an invitation to co-chair a national conference in counseling psychology that will be held in 2014.

Maggie McGatha, associate professor, Department of Middle and Secondary Education, is one of the featured speakers for the annual Kentucky Center for Mathematics conference this month.

Sharon Moore, professor, Kent School for Social Work, is included in a National Association of Social Workers tribute to black social workers. The Black History Month feature is at

Karen Newton, director, Health Promotion and Education, Campus Health Services, and Mitchell Payne, associate vice president for business affairs, are members of the Bingham Fellows Class of 2013. Throughout the year, they will explore the topic of developing a smart food culture, with a focus on improving the health of Louisville citizens using the strong food economy and nutrition as a platform. The nutritional habits of children and families will be an emphasis. The class will meet with topic experts, learn from national best practices and work together to give the issue visibility and momentum for positive change.

Ché Rhodes, associate professor, fine arts, created for Louisville Metro, the blown glass 2013 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Freedom Award. The city gives the award to citizens that have dedicated their lives to promoting justice, peace, freedom, non-violence, racial equality and civic activism.

Christine Sherretz, assistant professor, Department of Early Childhood and Elementary Education has been invited to present at the Commonwealth Commitment Summit on P-12 education, lessons learned, strategies used and how to incorporate successes.

Betty Straub, director of research with the Center for Health Promotion and Prevention Science, was invited to present the center’s research concerning the Kentucky Teen Institute at the International Conference on Health Risks of Youth. Her presentation was, “Engaging High School Students in Improving Health Outcomes for At-risk Students.” The conference was in Costa Rica last month.

Jean Wolph, director of the Louisville Writing Project, has been invited to serve on the National Writing Project’s leadership team for the i3 Grant; a $16.5 million award to work with rural schools in 20 states on developing writing programs that prepare students for college.

Document Actions
Personal tools