Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News New university scholars recognized

New university scholars recognized

by UofL Today last modified Nov 06, 2009 02:25 PM

University of Louisville President James Ramsey and Provost Shirley Willihnganz recognized faculty who have earned national and international scholarly reputations Nov. 5 at the Fall 2009 Celebration of Faculty Excellence.

New university scholars recognized

Becky Antle, Kent School associate professor, is among the new university scholars.

"This special event allows us to pause from our daily routine to honor outstanding faculty  - faculty who have distinguished themselves among their peers and in their profession," said President James Ramsey. "Great universities have great faculties. We are a great university, with a great faculty."

The annual event took place at the Speed Art Museum.

The university scholars program recognizes faculty who significantly exceed the scholarship necessary for promotion and tenure at UofL and in doing so achieve a national (scholar) and international (distinguished) reputation. Deans and unit heads forward nominations and recommendations for the program to the vice president for research. UofL's president makes the final selection. University scholars and distinguished university scholars receive three- to five-year renewable appointments to the program.

Here are brief bios on this year's recipients.

University Scholars

Becky Antle, assistant professor, Kent School of Social Work

Antle is the principal investigator on a five-year federal grant to provide relationship education to high-risk adults and youth in the Louisville area and is the co-principal investigator for a five-year federal grant to provide marriage education to post-adoptive families in the public child welfare system. She also has conducted research on other family practice techniques to promote well-being. These include kinship care, sibling and natural neighborhood placement and family group decision-making. She applies this research background to the teaching of advanced research, psycho-education, and child welfare courses at the Kent School.

Ronald Gregg, professor, School of Medicine

Gregg is chairman of biochemistry and molecular biology and is director of the Center for Genetics and Molecular Medicines' DNA sequencing facility.  His research focuses on discovery and understanding of the function of genes that cause vision defects under low-light conditions.  Most recently, he has identified genes critical to signaling from rod photoreceptors, which detect light under low light conditions, and second order neurons that forward those signals to the brain. He has been funded continuously by the National Institute of Health National Eye Institute since 1998. He has published more than 80 papers in peer-reviewed journals.

Zijiang He, professor, College of Arts and Sciences

He is a faculty member of the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences. He performs human psychophysical research along two tracks. The first track focuses on information processing in intermediate level vision with particular emphases on surface representation, binocular vision and attention. The second focuses on space perception and cognition in the real world environment and computer-generated virtual environments. His research is supported by two grants from the National Institutes of Health. Among his awards and honors are a Sloan Research Fellowship from 1995-1999 and the Chang-Jiang Scholar award from the Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China in 2008.

Carolyn Klinge, professor, School of Medicine

Klinge is a faculty member of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Klinge's research has demonstrated that the DNA sequence bound by estrogen receptor alpha changes the conformation of the receptor and regulates its interaction with coregulators. Her current work is directed at explaining the mechanisms by which cancer cells become resistant to endocrine therapy. Her research is funded by grants from NIH, Susan G. Komen for the Cure and Kentucky Lung Cancer Research Programs. She has written 77 peer-reviewed publications, five book chapters, and three invited reviews. She is on the editorial boards of the journals, Endocrinology and Molecular and Cellular Endocrinology.

Steven Koenig, associate professor, School of Medicine

Koenig has dual appointments in the departments of Bioengineering and Surgery. His research focus is on physiological responses to cardiac assist, counterpulsation and mini-pump development projects, and the clinical application of mechanical circulatory support devices to promote myocardial recovery in heart failure patients. Koenig developed the engineering component of UofL's Good Laboratory Practice program which resulted in FDA approval for clinical trials of the AbioCorâ„¢ implantable replacement heart at Jewish Hospital. His research program has been funded by organizations such as the Whitaker Foundation, the American Heart Association and NIH SBIR program. This funding has resulted in 52 peer-reviewed publications, 18 conference proceedings, four book chapters, 60 abstracts, five technical reports, three U.S. patents and three invention disclosures (patents pending).

Jan Potempa, professor, School of Dentistry

Potempa is a professor of dentistry and is a research professor and head of microbiology at Jagiellonian University in Poland. His research is aimed at understanding a novel protein secretion system which is used by periodontopathogens to secrete virulence factors, including proteinases. His teaching and research has been rewarded by the Foundation for Polish Science, and he has been recognized by Poland's president, the governor of Krakow and the Polish Education Ministry. Potempa has authored and co-authored 250 papers. Some of them have been referenced more than 100 times, placing them in the top 5 percent of referenced papers in the field of periodontitis/periodontology.

Distinguished University Scholars

Jesse Roman, professor, School of Medicine

Roman is chairman of the Department of Medicine. He has written more than 140 original papers, book chapters, and review articles in the areas of lung tissue remodeling and inflammation and the role of extracellular matrices in the control of lung and tumor cell functions. His research has been funded continuously by federal (NIH, Department of Defense, Department of Veterans Affairs) organizations, and he has permanent and ad hoc memberships in several VA and National Institutes of Health study sections. He serves on the Scientific Advisory Council of the Pulmonary Fibrosis Foundation, as past-president of the Georgia Thoracic Society, as a member of the steering committee of the NIH Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis Clinical Research Network and as president of the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation.

Terrance Scott, professor, College of Education and Human Development

Scott is director of special education programs. His research interests are related to students who exhibit challenging behavior, with special focus on school-wide prevention, effective instruction, functional behavior assessment and effective classroom and behavior management. Scott has conducted more than 500 presentations and training activities throughout the United States, Canada and Ireland. He has received more than $4.75 million in research grant funding and, in 2004, received the Distinguished Early Career Award from the Research Division of the International Council for Exceptional Children. He is involved in collaborative research with Johns Hopkins University to evaluate the impact of function-based interventions for students with challenging behaviors in school settings and with Lehigh University to study intervention packages for the most serious student behavior problems in high schools.


Document Actions
Personal tools