Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News Faculty/Staff Notables June 2013

Faculty/Staff Notables June 2013

by UofL Today last modified Jun 12, 2013 09:00 AM

Faculty and staff activities and honors demonstrate leadership in their fields and in the community.

David Adamkin, professor, pediatrics; director, Division of Neonatal Medicine and of Neonatal Nutrition Research; and co-director of the Neonatal Fellowship Program, has been elected president of the Southeastern Association of Neonatologists. The organization has a mission to provide for the betterment of the educational and professional objectives of individuals in the practice of neonatology in the Southeastern United States.

Jill Adelson, assistant professor, educational and counseling psychology, counseling and college student personnel, has been elected to serve as secretary/treasurer for the American Educational Research Association’s Structural Equation Modeling Special Interest Group.

Anita Barbee, professor, Kent School of Social Work, has been invited by the Children’s Bureau in Washington, DC, to assist in providing recommendations of child welfare practice and data measurement for federal child welfare monitoring efforts the Children’s Bureau is considering. The invitation recognizes Barbee’s years of experience in child welfare as one of its pre-eminent scholars.

Jenny Bay-Williams, chair, middle and secondary education, received the 2013 MU College of Education Citation of Merit for Outstanding Achievement and Meritorious Service Award.

Gary Bernstein, instructor, health and sport sciences, has had “From the Brink of Disaster: Five Steps to a Healthy Organization” featured in OnSite Fitness Magazine.

The College of Education and Human Development’s Language, Literacy, and Inquiry Collaborative has achieved Center for Literacy Education status with the National Center for Literacy Education. This recognizes the program’s commitment to ongoing collaborative work to improve literacy teaching and learning and the willingness to share this work with others through the Literacy in Learning Exchange. These faculty members are part of this collaboration: Ann Larson, Christine Sherretz, Diane Kyle, James Chisholm, Jenny Bay-Williams, Jill Jacobi-Vessels, Kathy Whitmore, Lori Norton-Meier, Tricia Bronger, Penny Howell and Tammi Davis.

Ann Herd, assistant professor, and Brad Shuck, assistant professor, both with leadership, foundations and human resource education, published an article in “Management INK” titled, “Employee Engagement and Leadership.” It is part of the magazine’s series about leadership. Shuck also had an article titled, “Compassion Matters to Businesses in Louisville,” featured in the May 17 issue of Business First.

Avery Kolers, associate professor, philosophy, has received The Journal of Applied Philosophy award for the best article published in 2012 (volume 29). The article was, “Floating Provisos and Sinking Islands.”

Ann Larson, vice dean, College of Education and Human Development, has been nominated to serve as a member of the National Board of Examiners for the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education. Education professionals who are nominated to the board are considered to be outstanding in their fields of work.

Dan L. Stewart, professor, pediatrics; assistant director, Division of Neonatal Medicine; and director of nurseries, Kosair Children’s Hospital and the University of Louisville Hospital, has been selected to serve on the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on the Fetus and Newborn. This highly-selective committee studies issues and current advances in fetal and neonatal care, makes recommendations regarding neonatal practice and collaborates with the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists.

Janice Sullivan, professor, pediatrics; chief and medical director, Kosair Charities Pediatric Clinical Research Unit, has been selected to serve on the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Drugs. This national committee reviews all aspects of pediatric pharmacology including drug indications, dosing and use precautions. The committee also advises the board of directors in matters related to drug labeling, safety and efficacy for both prescription and over-the-counter drugs; monitors federal legislation related to the drug approval process; and promotes the need for expanded pediatric drug trials.

Daniela Terson de Paleville, assistant professor, health and sport sciences, recently received a Kentucky Spinal Cord Injury Research Center P30 Pilot Grant. The grant will allow her and her team to evaluate the hypothesis that intensive locomotor training will promote neural activation of trunk and respiratory muscles with improvements in function.

She also has been selected to receive funding from the Office of the VP for Research Intramural Research Incentive Grant Committee for her proposal, “Validation of a Submaximal Test to Evaluate Cardiovascular Fitness Individuals with Chronic Spinal Cord Injury.”

Jacek M. Zurada, professor, electrical and computer engineering, delivered a university-wide Michal Fam Lecture at the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, on May 16. His presentation was titled, “Non-negative Matrix Factorization with Correntropy Similarity Measure and its Application for Pattern Analysis and Text Mining.” Tolga Ensari, post-doc, and Jan Chorowski, December 2012 PhD graduate, co-authored.

(Content from submissions to UofL Today.)

Document Actions
Personal tools