Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News Faculty/Staff Notables - August 2011

Faculty/Staff Notables - August 2011

by UofL Today last modified Aug 04, 2011 02:21 PM

A collection of submitted faculty/staff notable activity.

Murali Ankem is the new chair of urology at the School of Medicine. The director of minimally invasive surgery in the department of urology at the Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, his appointment is effective Oct. 1.

Medical residents Ronald Auer MD, orthopedic surgery; Jennifer Case MD, Kari Fay MD, Jennifer Ford MD, Andrew Moore MD, obstetrics, gynecology and women's health; and Daniel Son MD, psychiatry, each received an Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award this summer from third-year UofL medical students. The award honors residents who exhibit strong attributes of excellence in teaching skills combined with an outstanding ability to deliver high-level compassionate care to their patients, families, community and colleagues. Each recipient received a certificate and a check for $250 from The Gold Foundation.

Somnath Datta, professor, bioinformatics and biostatics, co-authored the paper that received best paper designation in the “Theoretical Paper Category” during the 2011 Statistical Science Awards Ceremony at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry in late June. Datta wrote "Inverse Probability of Censoring Weighted U-statistics for Right-Censored Data with an Application to Testing Hypotheses" published in Scandinavian Journal of Statistics [2010, 37, Issue 4, 680-700] with Dipankar Bandyopadhyay and Glen A Satten.

Diane Kyle, chair and professor, early childhood and elementary education, received the Louisville Writing Project’s (LWP) Patrona Award in June. She was nominated for being a “champion for writing excellence and writing teachers at the University of Louisville.” The award is given only when several LWP members nominate someone for outstanding advocacy of the Louisville Writing Project.

Cambridge Scholars Publishing released Robert Luginbill’s new book, “Author of Illusions: Thucydides’ Rewriting of the History of the Peloponnesian War,” earlier this year. Luginbill is a professor of classical and modern languages.

Valerie McCarthy, RN, assistant professor, was selected to participate in the Geriatric Nursing Research Scholars Program at the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing. She was one of 12 geriatric nursing researchers selected for the competitive weeklong, intensive, summer seminar held at the New York University College of Nursing.

Sharon Moore, professor, Kent School of Social Work, was nominated and invited to attend the Oxford Round Table at Harris Manchester College in the University of Oxford, England. The session is titled “Higher Education and the Rivalry for Brain Power.” Moore is one of 36 to attend. She presented her published work: “The Benefits, Challenges, and Strategies of African American Faculty Teaching at Predominantly White Institutions.”

Kate Niehaus, doctoral student, educational psychology, measurement, and evaluation program, was selected to receive a $10,000 State Farm Companies Foundation Doctoral Dissertation Award in recognition of her dissertation proposal: "The Role of School Support in Predicting Academic and Social-Emotional Outcomes for English Language Learners."

The University Advancement received a Gold CASE award for the fundraising video, Charting Our Course.

Former UofL and current Arizona Cardinals safety Kerry Rhodes was inducted into The Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame in late June. Rhodes was one of the top defensive players ever to play at UofL. His collegiate career extended from 2001 to 2004.

Daya Singh Sandhu, professor, educational and counseling psychology, was selected to serve on the editorial board of Counseling and Values, a national journal of the Association for Spiritual, Ethical and Religious Values in Counseling. This is a three-year appointment that started July 1 and continues through June 30, 2014.

Sandhu also presented, “No nation left behind: Challenges and opportunities of mental health counseling in India to combat the scourge of suicides," at the annual convention of the International Association for Counseling in June.

Lauren Smith, BFA spring recipient and Department of Fine Arts’ 2011 Gold BoB (Best of the Best) Portfolio Award winner, received the Children's Design Fellowship ( at Chronicle Books in San Francisco (,kids/). Only four are awarded.

Tom Tretter, associate professor, with the middle and secondary education, and Cindy Harnett, assistant professor, computer and electrical engineering, Speed School, were awarded $150,000 from the National Science Foundation for their project titled, “Research Initiation Grant: Can Makerspaces Develop Undergraduates’ Research Creativity and Innovation?”

U.S. News & World Report has listed 23 physicians with the University of Louisville Physicians group as Top Doctors as part of its online health services program, which provides referral information on thousands of physicians nationwide. According to U.S. News, physicians selected as “Top Doctors” have been “nominated by their peers and named to a highly selective list of America’s top physicians by achieving national recognition for outstanding work.”

The ULP 23 are:

  • Salvatore Bertolone MD, pediatric hematologist-oncologist
  • Sheldon Bond MD, pediatric surgeon
  • Jeffrey Bumpous MD, ENT-otolaryngologist
  • Robert Cacchione MD, surgeon
  • Jeffrey Callen MD, dermatologist
  • Jason Chesney MD, PhD, medical oncologist
  • Mary Fallat MD, pediatric surgeon
  • Michael Flynn MD, surgical oncologist
  • Susan Galandiuk MD, colon and rectal surgeon
  • Geoffrey Herzig MD, hematologist
  • Jonathan Hodes MD, neurosurgeon
  • B. Oliapuram Jose MD, radiation oncologist
  • Michael McCafferty MD, colon and rectal surgeon
  • Kelly McMasters MD, surgical oncologist
  • Donald Miller MD, PhD, hematologist and oncologist
  • J. David Richardson MD, surgeon
  • Mark Slaughter MD, thoracic and cardiovascular surgery
  • William Spanos Jr., MD, radiation oncologist
  • Gordon Tobin MD, plastic surgeon
  • Tsu Min Tsai MD, hand surgeon
  • Gary Vitale MD, surgeon
  • Bradon Wilhelmi MD, plastic surgeon
  • Shiao Woo MD, radiation oncologist

Charles Ziegler, University Scholar and professor, political science, was invited to present a paper on "Contrasting Perceptions of Sovereignty in China, Russia and the United States" to a Moscow State Institute for International Relations conference on US-Russian Relations in May and June.

Document Actions
Personal tools