Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News Faculty/Staff Notable Activity

Faculty/Staff Notable Activity

by UofL Today last modified Oct 11, 2012 09:47 AM

Faculty/staff-submitted items.

Mary Ellen Buning, assistant professor, neurological surgery, has earned certification as a Seating and Mobility Specialist from the Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology Society of North America (RESNA). She established the Assistive Technology Resource Center at Frazier Rehab Institute as a faculty member within the Department of Neurological Surgery. Besides specialized seating and complex wheelchair technology, the center also provides evaluation and services in alternative and augmentative communication and adaptive computer access and environmental control.

Jacek M. Zurada, professor, electrical and computer engineering, delivered the keynote address, “Computational Intelligence Techniques for Factory Automation and Industrial Applications,” during the 17th IEEE International Conference on Emerging Technologies, ETFA 2012, Krakow, Poland, in September. The ETFA conference series is the prime and largest IEEE-sponsored meeting dedicated to factory automation and emerging technologies in industrial automation.

Tony Arnold, professor of law and Boehl chair in property and land use, has been elected to the Board of Trustees of The Nature Conservancy of Kentucky. His three-year term begins Jan. 1, 2013. The Nature Conservancy is the leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and waters for nature and people. It has more than 1 million members worldwide. The Kentucky chapter has protected more than 140,000 acres of lands and natural resources throughout the Commonwealth since 1975.

Laura McNeal, professor, Brandeis School of Law, has been inducted into the Hall of Fame at the College of Education at Illinois State University. McNeal is one of five inductees who were recognized for their leadership in education during an Oct. 5 ceremony. She holds a doctorate degree in educational administration from ISU.

Melissa Currie, associate professor, pediatric forensic medicine, has been named to a review panel established by Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear’s executive order to conduct comprehensive reviews of child fatalities and near fatalities found to be the result of abuse or neglect. She joins 16 other experts and stakeholders from law enforcement, social services and the three branches of state government on this independent panel. Her term will last two years. Currie has been chief of UofL Pediatric Forensic Medicine since the division was created in September 2007 with the support of Kosair Charities. She was among the first group of pediatricians nationwide to be board-certified in child abuse pediatrics and was Kentucky’s first board-certified child abuse pediatrician.

Craig Hochbein, assistant professor, leadership, foundations and human resource education, had a recent article in Journal of Research in Science Teaching that Science Magazine selected as an Editor’s Choice. The article is “The consequences of ‘school improvement’: Examining the association between two standardized assessments measuring school improvement and student science achievement.” Read the abstract

Melissa Evans-Andris, associate dean of research, College of Education and Human Development, attended AERA’s Organization of Institutional Affiliates (OIA) annual fall policy meeting in Washington, DC. OIA consists of graduate schools, colleges of education, and research institutions. Evans-Andris also was asked to serve as a judge on a panel to select the winner of the first National College Muhammad Ali Writing Award for Ethics.

Amy Hirschy, assistant professor, education and counseling psychology, has been chosen to participate in the Institute for Higher Education Policy (IHEP) and the Lumina Foundation Academic Fellows Program. This prestigious selection will offer her the opportunity to influence the national postsecondary education agenda by evaluating critical research to elevate the current policy discourse in Washington DC. (Information taken from IHEP press release.)

Shelley Thomas, assistant professor, and Tom Tretter, associate professor and director of the planetarium, upon recommendation from the Kentucky Department of Education personnel, served as panel members on separate task forces (US History and Biology), organized and managed by the National Center on Education and the Economy (NCEE). NCEE studies the world’s best educational systems to inform educational systems in the United States at the national, state, and local level.

Mark Leach, assistant chair, Department of Educational and Counseling Psychology, recently represented Kentucky on Capitol Hill to discuss funding for the only psychology training grant program supported by the federal government. He also was asked to extend his membership an additional year beyond his term as an associate member of the Ethics Committee of the American Psychological Association and he will be a member of a national work-group developed to address the internship imbalance in psychology. 

Education faculty members Jill Jacobi-Vessels, Ann Larson, Christine Sherretz and Betty Straub co-wrote a book chapter for the “Handbook of Prosocial Education,” Rowan and Littlefield Publishing Group. The book is a guide to the prosocial side of education. The chapters explore and explain how prosocial education helps teachers create effective classroom learning environments to support the development of the whole student, principals encourage positive school climate, and superintendents work to improve the health and well-being of their systems.

Ann Larson, vice dean and acting chair for the Department of Middle and Secondary Education, will serve as a panelist at a major forum at the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) Annual Meeting. The forum is titled “Examining our Practice (Part III): Preparing Candidates for the Common Core State Standards.” AACTE President Sharon Robinson asked Larson to serve on the panel because of Larson’s involvement with Learning Forward’s CCSS initiative coupled with Kentucky’s leadership in Common Core adoption and implementation.

V. Faye Jones, professor, pediatrics, has been accepted into the Healthcare Executive Diversity and Inclusion Certificate Program sponsored by Association of American Medical Colleges and Georgetown University. She was one of 25 people nationwide to be accepted into the first class of this intensive academic program of diversity education. The program aims to produce an active community of leaders who will help ensure that the U.S. health care system provides high quality, comprehensive care to everyone. Over the course of the one-year program year, Jones will attend three 4- 5-day interactive learning modules at Georgetown University and complete a diversity project tailored to UofL’s School of Medicine.

Kevin M. Walsh, professor, electrical and computer engineering, was invited to Washington, DC to participate in a working group for the National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI) Regional State and Local Initiatives (RSL) in Nanotechnology. The government identified the KY nanoNET Initiative, which UofL hosts, as an RSL for Kentucky. It is one of only 30 RSLs in the country. The NNI reports to the Executive Agency for the Office of the President of the United States and provides advice to the 29 federal agencies which use nanotechnology.


Document Actions
Personal tools