Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News Faculty Senate Meeting Overview May 2014

Faculty Senate Meeting Overview May 2014

by UofL Today last modified May 13, 2014 11:34 AM

The Faculty Senate met in its annual election meeting followed immediately by a regular session May 7 in Chao Auditorium, Ekstrom Library. Chair Joe Steffen presided.


The Committee on Committees and Credentials reported the following annual election results:

Faculty Senate Chair—Pamela Feldhoff, Medicine

Faculty Senate Vice Chair/Executive Committee Chair—Enid Trucios-Haynes, Law

Executive Committee (two vacancies)—Roger Bradshaw, Speed, and Carrie Donald, A&S

Academic Programs Committee (three vacancies)—Don Demuth, Dentistry; Jasmine Farrier, A&S; Margo Smith, Libraries

Committee on Committees and Credentials (three vacancies)—Ben Foster, CoB; Luke Milligan, Law; Ron Sahoo, A&S

Part-time Faculty Committee (two vacancies)—Valerie McCarthy, Nursing, and Bob Meyers, CoB

Planning & Budget Committee (two vacancies)—Ray Austin, Public Health, and Michael Wade, CoB

Redbook and Bylaws Committee (one vacancy)—Carrie Daniels, Libraries

Alternative Transportation Committee (one vacancy)—Joseph Gutmann, A&S

Awards & Designations (one vacancy)—Csabo Biro, A&S

Bookstore Advisory Committee (one vacancy)—Lee Larson, A&S

Parking Advisory Committee (two vacancies)—Karen Karp, Education, and Karen Singleton, Nursing

Parking Appeals Committee (three vacancies)—Allen Ashman, Belknap; Katherine Johnson, HSC; J.P. Mohsen, Belknap

Staff Senate Representative (one vacancy)—Robert Staat, Dentistry

Student Care Team (one vacancy)—Eli Karem, Kent

Student Conduct Hearing Board (three vacancies)—Michel Atlas, Libraries; Elizabeth Grossi, A&S; Ted Feldmann, Medicine 


By voice vote, gave final approval to the university’s proposed joint executive MBA program with the University of Kentucky. There were no objections.

Report Highlights

UofL College of Business administrators were on hand to answer questions about the proposed joint executive MBA program with the University of Kentucky. Present were Rohan Christie-David, associate dean, and Richard Germain, chair, department of marketing. Christie-David said the program is expected to enroll about 25 students in its first class and that the tuition ($67,500 for the 17-month program) compares favorably to other programs nationwide, which cost from $70,000 to $100,000. He noted that the program will give Kentucky businesses the only in-state option for an executive MBA. He said half of the classes would be at UofL and half at UK.

Provost Shirley Willihnganz noted that there would be some 1,000 more graduates receiving degrees this year than there were seven or eight years ago. She briefly updated progress on the 21st Century University Initiative. Responding to a question about how to boost student participation in course evaluations, she said she is open to discussing alternative methods, such as returning to paper evaluations. Senators expressed concerns that there might not be enough evaluations returned for adequate representation, and that a low number of evaluations could be detrimental to untenured faculty.

President James Ramsey said unit cuts for the proposed 2014-2015 university budget would total 0.65 percent, down from 1 percent. He also said that the university will continue its fundraising efforts, with another phase of fundraising to follow after the successful completion of the $1 billion Charting Our Course campaign.

Chair Joe Steffen led the senators in congratulating physics professor David Brown, who was the winner of the 2014 Trustees Award.

New members were introduced. Present were Karen Hadley, English; Jim Stone, Education; and Carrie Daniels, university archivist. Also introduced was Allie Funk, incoming senior, who will be the Student Government Association representative at the 2014-2015 Faculty Senate meetings.

The Faculty Senate is part of UofL’s shared governance system, which also includes the Staff Senate and the Student Government Association. Senators are elected by their peers. The senate will meet again Wednesday, June 4, on the Health Sciences Campus.

--Prepared for the Faculty Senate by Janet Cappiello, UofL Today editor, communications specialist, UofL Office of Communications and Marketing.



Document Actions
Personal tools