Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News Faculty honored for their time at UofL

Faculty honored for their time at UofL

by UofL Today last modified Jun 17, 2013 11:48 AM

A faculty member with a half century of service to UofL was one of 65 people President James Ramsey and Provost Shirley Willihnganz honored at the Faculty Service Awards ceremony June 11.

Larry Tyler’s 50 years at the Speed School of Engineering combined with that of the other honored faculty members totals more than 2,000 years.

The annual Faculty Service Awards honor faculty who have been at UofL 25 or more years in five-year increments. They receive dinner at the University Club and Ramsey and Willihnganz present each with a certificate. Faculty with 25 years of service get a choice of a captain’s chair or rocker. Those with 30, 35, 40, 45 or more years receive a crystal bowl with the name and years of service engraved on it. This year’s honorees were:

50 Years

Speed School of Engineering

Larry Tyler, professor, engineering fundamentals

45 Years

School of Law
Edwin Render Sr., professor, law

University Libraries
Diane Nichols, professor, University Libraries; associate dean, Library Operations

40 Years

College of Arts and Sciences
Ronald Atlas, professor, biology and School of Public Health and Information Sciences; director, Center for Deterrence of Biowarfare and Bioterrorism
William Cunningham, professor, classical and modern languages
Robert Kebric, professor, history
Thomas Maloney, professor, philosophy
Sena Naslund, professor, English; writer in residence
Robert St. Clair, professor, communication
John Whitesell, professor, fine arts

College of Business
James R. McCabe, associate professor, economics

School of Dentistry
Brian Alpert, professor and chair, surgical and hospital dentistry

School of Law
Leslie Abramson, professor, law

Speed School of Engineering
Brenda Hart, professor, engineering fundamentals; director, minority and ethnic engineering

35 Years

College of Arts and Sciences
Dale Billingsley, professor, English; vice provost for undergraduate affairs (university provost)
Julia Dietrich, professor, English; associate dean, undergraduate education, College of Arts and Sciences
Justin McCarthy Jr., professor, history
Lee Shai Weissbach, professor, history

College of Business
Satish Chandra, associate professor, computer information systems
Frank Kuzmits, professor, management and entrepreneurship
Babu Lal Nahata, professor, economics

School of Dentistry
David Owen Willis, professor, oral health and rehabilitation

University Libraries
Nancy Utterback, professor and head, public services, Kornhauser Health Sciences Library

School of Medicine
David Adamkin, professor, pediatrics and obstetrics, gynecology and women’s health
Frederick Benz, professor, pharmacology and toxicology
Harrell Hurst, professor, pharmacology and toxicology
Michael Tsung Tseng, professor, anatomical sciences and neurobiology

30 Years
College of Arts and Sciences
Lida Gordon, professor, fine arts
Deborah Wilson Keeling, professor and chair, justice administration
Lee Larson, professor, mathematics
Steven Skaggs, professor, fine arts
Joseph Steffen, professor, biology
Gennaro Vito, professor, justice administration

College of Business
Russell Ray Jr., professor, finance

School of Law
Kathleen Bean, professor, law

School of Medicine
Charles Barr, professor, ophthalmology and visual sciences; Drs. Arthur and Virginia Keeney chair of resident education and ethics in ophthalmology and visual sciences
Robert Frierson, professor, psychiatry and behavioral sciences
Toni Ganzel, professor, surgery; dean, School of Medicine
John Lee Roberts, associate professor, obstetrics, gynecology and women’s health and pediatrics; associate dean, graduate medical education
David Seligson, professor, surgery

School of Music
Naomi Oliphant, professor, piano and keyboard performance and associate dean.

Speed School of Engineering
Dar-jen Chang, associate professor, computer engineering and computer science.

25 Years

College of Arts and Sciences
Mark Austin, associate professor, sociology
Geoffrey Cross, professor, English
Edward Essock, professor, psychological and brain sciences
John Gilderbloom, professor, urban and public affairs
Debra Journet, professor, English
Frederick Anthony Luzzio, associate professor, chemistry
Cynthia Lee Negrey, associate professor, chair, sociology
Robert Powers, professor, mathematics
Prasanna Sahoo, professor, mathematics
Jeffrey Skinner, professor, English

College of Business
Stephan Gohmann, professor, economics; BB&T distinguished professor of free enterprise

College of Education
Cheryl Ann Kolander, professor, health and sport sciences

School of Law
Grace McLane Giesel, professor, law

School of Medicine
Douglas Borchman, professor, ophthalmology and visual sciences and chemistry (A&S)
Nemr Eid, professor, pediatrics
Michael Heine, associate professor, anesthesiology and perioperative medicine
Alfred Jacobs Jr., associate professor, nephrology
Richard Harold McChane, associate professor, pediatrics
Dan Stewart, professor, obstetrics, gynecology and women’s health
Marcus Stoddard, professor, cardiovascular medicine
Edward Tillett, assistant professor, orthopedic surgery
Welby Winstead, assistant professor, surgery

School of Music
Steve Rouse, professor, theory and composition
Michael Tunnell, professor, trumpet and music performance

President James Ramsey, deans and vice presidents recognize staff longevity each fall at the Staff Recognition Luncheon.

Document Actions
Personal tools