Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News Campus Notables - March

Campus Notables - March

by UofL Today last modified Mar 22, 2011 02:29 PM

A collection of submitted faculty and staff notable activity.


Jeffrey Callen, chief of the Division of Dermatology, received the 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Medical Dermatology Society. The award recognizes a lifetime providing inspired patient care as a medical dermatologist, mentoring of future dermatologists and research to advance dermatology. Read more

“Understanding Atrophy,” which documents UofL research, was named “Editors’ Choice” in Science Signaling, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the nation’s leading scientific society. The article, originally published in the Journal of Cell Biology in December 2010, details research conducted in the lab of Ashok Kumar, associate professor in the Department of Anatomical Sciences and Neurobiology. Graduate student Pradyup Paul is lead author. This is the second consecutive year for an article about UofL research to be an “Editors’ Choice.” Read more

The Center for Predictive Medicine is one of three recipients of the Associated General Contractors of Kentucky's Build Kentucky Award in the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design category.

UofL has been selected to receive the Award of Excellence in human resources practices from the College and University Professional Association for Human Resources Southern Region for the work of the Health Care Integration team on UofL's health management, disease management and Cardinal Care programs. The award will be presented during the Southern Region conference in Little Rock, April 10-12. As the regional award recipient, UofL will become one of four contenders for the CUPA-HR National Award of Excellence in HR Practices to be presented in October.

Professional recognition

Gina Bertocci, professor of mechanical engineering, is a member of the 2011 class of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows. The honor recognizes recipients' outstanding achievements in medical and biological engineering. Bertocci was nominated for her leadership of international committees that establish industry standards on seating crashworthiness and seating use in motor vehicles in wheelchair transportation.

The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health at the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention selected Betty Straub, instructor, HPES, as a scientific reviewer for its competition for Centers of Excellence in Agricultural Disease and Injury Research, Education and Prevention. These centers will conduct high-quality research and help translate scientific discoveries into practical applications to improve worker safety and health. Straub’s selection was based on her expertise in directing a national center, creating and broadly disseminating educational materials and organizing and implementing outreach projects — all components expected of the new centers.


Julia Dietrich and Karen Hadley, both from the Department of English, were judges for the Kentucky Derby Spelling Bee at UofL on March 19.

The Louisville Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience had a hands-on learning experience for high school students and teachers at UofL on March 19. Cindy Corbitt, biology; John Pani and Julia Chariker, psychological and brain sciences; Robin Krimm and Robert Lundy, anatomical sciences and neurobiology; and David Houghton, neurology, took part in it.

Document Actions
Personal tools