Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News April Faculty/Staff Notables

April Faculty/Staff Notables

by UofL Today last modified May 18, 2010 11:36 AM

A collection of submitted faculty and staff accomplishments and honors.


Harry Allen, lecturer, justice administration, received the Outstanding Mentor Award and the Past Presidential Award from the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences. He also recently published the 13th edition of "Corrections in America" with Edward Latessa and Bruce Ponder, also a justice administration lecturer. The Prentice Hall book is the longest continuously published textbook in the corrections field. It first was published in 1975.

Anita Barbee, professor, received the 2010 Founders Award for the Junior League of Louisville for her continuing commitment and leadership to the Louisville community and to the league.

Andy Frey, associate professor, Kent School of Social Work, received the Gary Lee Shaffer Award for Academic Contributions to the Field of School Social Work from the School Social Work Association. He is the first person to receive this national award. It recognizes Frey's leadership through service and research in the field of school social work.

Cheri Hildreth, director, Department of Environmental Health and Safety, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Campus Safety Health and Environmental Management Association for an outstanding career of service on the national level to institutions of higher education and to the community. It is the highest honor the association gives to an individual.

Tom Lawson, professor, Kent School of Social Work, received the "Ehrenbuergerwuerde" (Dignity of an Honorary Citizen) of the University of Applied Sciences at Munich, Germany, for 20 years of dedication to and tireless support of the exchange program between Kent School and UAS.

Guilherme Rabinowits, assistant professor of hematology/ oncology, and director of Head and Neck Medical Oncology at the James Graham Brown Cancer Center, will receive a Career Development Award from the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) to establish an independent clinical cancer research program. The award goes to physicians who are within their first to third year of a full-time, primary faculty appointment in a clinical department at an academic medical institution. Rabinowits will receive a three-year grant totaling $200,000.

Gale Rhodes, associate provost and executive director for the Delphi Center for Teaching and Learning, is the 2010 recipient of the President's Award from Tegrity. The award goes to a senior executive of a Tegrity client institution for demonstrating exemplary vision and leadership through successful implementation of Tegrity and having a positive impact on students and colleagues.

Erica Rogers, PhD candidate, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, received the Outstanding Student Leadership Award at the recent national meeting of the Society of Toxicology.

Jesse Wright, MD, PhD, UofL Depression Center director, received the 2009 British Medical Association Medical Book Award in the mental health category for his book, "Cognitive Behavior-Therapy for Severe Mental Illness: An Illustrated Guide." The award is intended to encourage the production of high-quality medical books. This book follows Wright's earlier best-selling contribution, "Learning Cognitive-Behavior Therapy: An Illustrated Guide," which has become the standard text used to teach psychiatrists the evidence-based methods of cognitive-behavior therapy.


Eli Karam, assistant professor, Kent School of Social Work, is president-elect for the Kentucky Association for Marital and Family Therapy. He is the youngest member to serve in this capacity. The post is for two years. Karam then will serve as president for two years.

Noell Rowan, assistant professor, Kent School of Social Work, is one of six Hartford Faculty Scholars chosen nationally in a competitive process. She will be mentored for two years as she researches "Resiliency and Quality of Life of Older Lesbian Adults with Alcoholism." The award, which carries $100,000 to underwrite the research process, is designed to help build research and leadership capacity in gerontology.


Ruth Carrico, assistant professor, School of Public Health and Information Sciences, was the lead editor of the "Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC) Text of Infection Control and Epidemiology," which includes the most current regulations, guidelines, technology, research and best practices in the field of infection prevention.

Dewey Clayton, professor, political science, has just published "The Presidential Campaign of Barack Obama: A Critical Analysis of a Racially Transcendent Strategy" with the Routledge Taylor & Francis Group.

Muriel Harris, MPH, PhD, assistant professor, School of Public Health and Information Sciences, has published "Evaluating Public and Community Health Program."

To submit items for inclusion in the April Notables, e-mail Janene Zaccone and make your subject line "Notables."


Document Actions
Personal tools