Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Faculty/Staff News April 2013 Faculty/Staff Notables

April 2013 Faculty/Staff Notables

by UofL Today last modified Apr 22, 2013 09:02 AM

Faculty and staff accomplishments submitted to UofL Today in the past month.

Katie Adamchik, College of Arts and Sciences Academic Advising Center, has been named National Academic Advising Association Winner of the Outstanding Advising Award — Primary Advising Role. The NACADA Annual Awards Program for Academic Advising honors individuals and institutions who make significant contributions to the improvement of academic advising. The organization has more than 10,000 members.

Adamchik also received a UofL Provost’s Award for Exemplary Advising in the P&A Adviser category. Other provost’s award recipients were Ayman El-Baz, associate professor, Speed School of Engineering, Graduate Faculty Adviser; and Robert Ullrich, professor, Speed School of Engineering, Undergraduate Faculty Adviser.

Jill Adelson, assistant professor, educational psychology, measurement, and evaluation in the Department of Educational and Counseling Psychology, Counseling and Student Personnel Services, has been invited to serve a three-year term as the AERA Division D Graduate Student Seminar Committee Chair. Her committee’s charge is to provide outreach to Division D (Measurement and Research Methodology) and other interested graduate students through educational activities, and in particular, the seminar at the annual meeting. Adelson also has been invited to serve as the AERA Advanced Studies of National Databases SIG Webmaster.

Emily Albrink, adjunct associate professor of voice, School of Music, recently performed as Gretel in “Hansel and Gretel” for the Washington National Opera, Terrace Theatre, Kennedy Center. She is scheduled to perform at the Ash Lawn Opera in Charlottesville, Va., as Julie Jordan in “Carousel.”

Roger Buskil, instructor, Department of Leadership, Foundations, and Human Resource Education, has been selected to receive the 2013 UofL Metroversity Award for Outstanding Faculty for Adult Learners.

Mark Casey, program coordinator for the College of Education and Human Development’s Ft. Knox office, has received the 2013 UofL Outstanding Staff Member for Adult Student Learners award.

The College of Business has been reaccredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, the longest-serving global accrediting body for schools offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in business and accounting. Fewer than 5 percent of business programs worldwide—about 650—hold AACSB accreditation.

The College of Education and Human Development had the largest presence ever at the Academy of Human Resource Development (AHRD) in February. Seven faculty members, Rod Githens, Meera Alagaraja, Ann Herd, Pradeep Kotamraju, Kevon Rose, Matt Bergman and Brad Shuck; and six graduate students, Devon Twyford, Lisa Ferris, Christine Romesburg, Brett Steele, Nana Arthur-Mensah and Cara Dimattina, attended. Twelve sessions featured UofL/CEHD presenters and five of the six graduate students presented original work. Denise Cumberland, (PhD 2012) was the first runner-up for the dissertation of the year award, and Rahashi Ghosh, (PhD 2009) won the article of the year award for Human Resource Development Review.

Timothy Durbin, adjunct associate professor, violin, School of Music, spent three weeks teaching in Indonesia, Singapore, and Hong Kong in December of 2012. Durbin taught students and teachers, directed orchestras and offered master classes and group lessons. He plans to return to do teacher training there in July.

Craig Hochbein, assistant professor, Department of Leadership, Foundations and Human Resource Education, in early March was on an invited WFPL radio panel that discussed the landscape of urban education, particularly in Louisville.

Information Technology’s Design & Print service recently joined a list of 50 organizations with the top-volume in-house print shops in the country. The list includes Allstate Insurance, Tyson Foods, the Hershey Co., the World Bank and the U.S. Government printing office. The print shop produces a wide variety of departmental and university communications to students, faculty and staff, as well as external audiences. The unit ranks much lower for the number of employees on its staff, meaning that the shop does a lot of work with a relatively small team. Read the full story.

Karen Karp, professor, Department of Early Childhood and Elementary Education, will receive the 2013 Outstanding Mentor of Doctoral Students award from the School of Interdisciplinary and Graduate Studies at the Doctoral Hooding and Graduation ceremonies in May.

Petra Kern, clinician, researcher, and educator in music therapy, received the 2012 national service award of the American Music Therapy Association.

Mike Jett, instructor, Department of Health and Sport Sciences, Exercise Physiology, was quoted in an article featured in USA Today College. The article, “Half-court shots all the rage this season,” examined this latest trend in basketball.

Research from the National Research Center for Career and Technical Education (NRCCTE) was cited in a College Bound blog post for Education Week. Jim Stone’s presentation at the ACTE’s National Policy Seminar in March, “Making the Case for Career and Technical Education,” described the results of the center’s analysis of National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) data on the impact of CTE course-taking persistence in high school.

Amber Pendleton, adjunct associate professor, School of Medicine, had the article, “Outpatient Emergency Preparedness: A Survey of Pediatricians,” accepted for oral presentation at the national American Academy of Pediatrics meeting October of 2012.

Patrick Pössel, associate professor, Department of Educational and Counseling Psychology, Counseling, and College Student Personnel, was nominated by his doctoral students to receive the 2013 Kentucky Psychological Association’s Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award. He received the award at the KPA conference in late March.

Daya Sandhu, professor, Department of Educational and Counseling Psychology, Counseling, and College Student Personnel Services, received the Samuel H. Johnson Distinguished Service Award from the American Counseling Association (ACA). The Association for Multicultural Counseling Development (AMCD), a division of the ACA, presented the award to him. The award honors an AMCD member whose service at the local, state, national or international level has stimulated interest in multicultural counseling and development and/or enhanced the well-being of members of the populations which AMCD serves.

Roman Yampolskiy, assistant professor, computer engineering and computer science, and director of the CyberSecurity Laboratory, is in the Top 10 list of the “Online Professor of the Year” competition at Voting for the final round has just begun.

Jianhua (Andrew) Zhao, assistant professor, anthropology, has a new book, “The Chinese Fashion Industry: An Ethnographic Approach,” which was published by Bloomsbury Academic in January 2013. It is part of the Dress, Body, Culture series.

Submit an item for the next compilation.

Document Actions
Personal tools