Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Campus News Research!Louisville award winners announced

Research!Louisville award winners announced

by UofL Today last modified Nov 12, 2009 08:53 AM

The partners of Research!Louisville recently recognized the winners of a three-day research competition that is a part of Research!Louisville, an annual event to showcase health/life sciences research conducted by students, faculty and research fellows and staff at the University of Louisville.

Winners were honored in a special ceremony held Friday, Oct. 16, in the UofL Clinical and Translational Research Building at the Health Sciences Center.
Larry Cook, UofL executive vice president for health affairs; William Pierce, UofL interim executive vice president for research; Marty Bonick, president and CEO of Jewish Hospital Medical Campus; Sandra Brooks, vice president of research and Norton Cancer Preventive Services; and Pamela Smith Elzy, director of education and research at University Hospital, joined Research!Louisville Chairman Peter Rowell in congratulating the award-winning researchers.
The winners are:

  • Carlo Bartoli, Medical Student Award-1st place. Mentor: Guruprasad Giridharan
  • Chad Hargrove, Medical Student Award-2nd place. Mentor: Jeff Petruska
  • Wendye Walter, Medical Student Award-3rd place. Mentor: Kenneth Palmer
  • Caleb Bastain, Dental Student Award-1st place . Mentor: Allan Farman
  • Jessica Bondy Dental Student Award-2nd place. Mentor: David Scott
  • Andrew Currie, Dental Student Award-3rd place. Mentor: Douglas Darling
  • Juliet Ndukum, Public Health and Information Sciences Graduate Student Award-1st place. Mentor: Susmita Datta
  • Sula Hood, Public Health and Information Sciences Graduate Student Award-2nd place. Mentor: Diane Chlebowy
  • Akshata Moghe, Masters Basic Science Graduate Award-1st place. Mentor: Shirish Barve
  • Tim Horrell, Masters Basic Science Graduate Award-2nd place. Mentor: Ayman El-Baz
  • Madhuvanti Patil, Masters Basic Science Graduate Award-3rd place. Mentor: Sirish S. Barve
  • Colleen Tucker, Doctoral Basic Science Gradaute Award-1st place. Mentor: Michele M. Kosiewicz
  • Elizabeth Novak, Doctoral Basic Science Gradaute Award-2nd place. Mentor: Donald Demuth
  • Patrica Ward, Doctoral Basic Science Gradaute Award-3rd place. Mentor: Charles Hubscher
  • Jianting Wang, Student Engineering Collaboration Award-1st Place. Mentor: Kyung Kang
  • Tim Horrell, Student Engineering Collaboration Award-2nd Place. Mentor: Ayman El-Baz
  • Abishek Srivastava, Michael K. Tanner Memorial Award for Excellence in Graduate Student Sciences. Mentor: Haval Shirwan
  • Martin Espinosa Ginic, Medical Resident Award. Mentor: Julio Ramirez
  • Dong Xiang, Clinical Research Fellow Award. Mentor: Jun Yan
  • Cynthia Gomes, Postdoctoral Fellow Research Associate Award - 1st place. Mentor: Michal Hetman
  • Sara Nunes, Postdoctoral Fellow Research Associate Award - 2nd place. Mentor: James Hoying
  • Sujata Saraswat, Postdoctoral Fellow Research Associate Award - 3rd place. Mentor: Scott Whittemore
  • Sarah Norberto, Research Staff Award. Mentor: Sham Kakar
  • Swati Joshi-Barve, Young Faculty Investigator Award
  • Oleg Barski, Jewish Hospital and St. Mary's Foundation Faculty Award - Scientific Importance
  • Nolan Boyd, Jewish Hospital and St. Mary's Foundation Faculty Award -Innovation in Biotechnology
  • Robert Topp, Jewish Hospital and St. Mary's Foundation Faculty Award -Innovation in Behavioral Sciences
  • Pascale Alard, Jewish Hospital and St. Mary's Foundation Faculty Award -Most Promising Basic Science Research
  • James Wittliff, Jewish Hospital and St. Mary's Foundation Faculty Award -Potential for Major Clinical Application

A panel of UofL faculty judges selected the award winners from more than 260 entries.
The partners of Research!Louisville include UofL, Jewish Hospital Foundation, Norton Healthcare and UofL HealthCare. The event is now in its 14th year.

Document Actions
Personal tools