UNIVERSITY of LOUISVILLE

STAFF SENATE MEETING MINUTES

December 13, 2022

The Staff Senate of the University of Louisville held its regular meeting on December 13, 2022 on the TEAMS platform, Chair John Smith, presiding.

VOTING MEMBERS REGISTERING ATTENDANCE

ANS: Cynthia Houchens, Rebecca Ledford, Jason Sievers ATH: Angela Cox, Blake LeBlanc, Daniel Morrissey, Alyssa Murphy, Byron Terry BUS: Shannon Jenkins, Kayla Miller COO: Shirin Bolhari, Phillip Carswell, Denise Hand, Donna Hardesty, Christina Howard, Kim Noltemeyer, Kristin Roberts, Dennis Thomas, Patti Williams DTL: Jody Carroll, Bonnie Dean, Tess McGilbra, Faith Navarro Yount, Ashley O'Neil. Lisa Sirles ED: Barbara Bishop, Heidi Cooley-Cook, Jane Olson, Julie Thum ERM: Kenneth Allen HR: Christina Reed KNT: Shelby Eisenback LAW: Kim Sanders LIB: Alice Abbot-Moore, Donald Dean MED: Jason Beare, Michelle Blessett, Martin Brown, Charles Carter, Kristen Darnell, Kathleen Elsherif, Kent Gardner, Melissa Garrett, Katie Glesing, Jennifer Hall, Theora Hudson, Skip Hurley, Deborah Kalbfleisch, Ruby Keith, Victoria King, Stephanie Kittle, Katherine Linzy, Kelly Moore, Whitney Rogers, Brenda Sexton, Tony Simms, Andrew Weinberger, David Young MUS: Christopher Dye NUR: Megan Johnson PH: Rachel Quick PRES: Carcyle Barrett, Leondra Gully PROV: Will Adamchik, Bryn Bidwell, Tim Dill, Virginia Hosono, Linda Leake, Kevin Ledford, John Morgan, Becky Patterson, John Whitney, Mark Woolwine SPD: Kari Donahue, Betty Nunn, Mani Vangalur VPEA: Patrick Smith VPF: Hayley Eisenberg VPHA: Rajvi Parikh, Bill Tuttle VPR: Dave Funk, Angela Lewis-Klein VPSA: Heather Gentry, Kathleen Halbleib, John Smith VPUA: Asma Addarrat, Nakia Strickland

GUESTS REGISTERING ATTENDANCE

Interim Chief Information Officer: Mr. Brad Andersen

AAPI President: Dr. Andrew Zhao

Employee Success Center: Ms. Laura McDaniels **Business Ops Center Director:** Ms. Melissa Shuter

UofL Today: Mr. Chris Wooton

OTHERS REGISTERING ATTENDANCE

Kari Aikins, Mimi Bell, Bev Daly, Crystal Bradley, Amanda Cunningham, Kristina Doan, Michael Dyre, Sarah Exner, Tamara Iacono, Sherry McCroskey, Hung Nguyen, Melissa Shuter, Quenna Thompson, Andrea Wilson

VOTING MEMBERS NOT REGISTERING ATTENDANCE

COO: Bobbi Carlton, Trey Siebert DTL: Connie Martinez, Pleshette DePriest MED: Lisa Floore,

PROV: Erica Gabbard SPD: Brendan Stivers

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Smith called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.

ACTION ITEM: Approval of November minutes - John Smith

The November meeting minutes are linked above and were approved as distributed.

UNIVERSITY of LOUISVILLE

STAFF SENATE MEETING MINUTES December 13, 2022

REPORT: Asian, Asian American and Pacific Islander F/S Assoc. - Andrew Zhao

Dr. Andrew Zhao, President of the Employee Resource Group (ERG), Asian, Asian-American & Pacific Islander Faculty and Staff Association (AAPIFSA) shared information on the group. The AAPI's goals are to build community, promote diversity and to champion action and change. Dr. Zhao invited senators who identify as AAPI and allies interested in supporting the mission and goals of the AAPIFSA to join the group. This presentation is linked above.

REPORT: ITS Update - Brad Andersen

Interim Chief Information Officer, Mr. Brad Andersen explained the recent technology issues. On September 19th, a fiber cut was made by a vendor off campus. A digital ring encircles the city that is supposed to direct network traffic to the opposite side of a troubled area. That ring did not work because the failover pieces were not in place. Since then, all failover pieces in the ring have been replaced. On October 25th, there was a Wi-Fi issue when connections were randomly dropped. That was an issue with the configuration the wireless gateway routers. It took the vendor a week and a half to address the problem. That poor level of support may warrant a change in vendors when that piece of equipment is replaced. Since the issue was addressed, connectivity has been steady.

REPORT: Excellence Awards & Call for Nominations - Laura McDaniels

Ms. McDaniels reported on the upcoming university award season and the call to nominate a deserving colleague for one of the prestigious presidential awards. The deadline to submit a nomination is February 15, 2023. Please see the linked documents for more information.

REPORT: Presidential Search - John Smith

On February 1, 2023, Dr. Kim Schatzel will assume office as UofL's new president. That same day marks Dr. Gonzalez's return to the Provost Office and Dr. Gerry Bradley to dean of the Dental School. With Dr. Schatzel's varied and successful background, Chair Smith is confident she is the best choice for UofL.

REPORT: Workday Implementation - Melissa Shuter

Ms. Shuter explained the new pay cycle in the Workday system. The next pay cycle will be from December 16 to December 31, 2022 and will follow the same payday cycle of every other Friday and be paid out on January 6, 2023. For employees in the 24/7 Business Operations area, and who are hourly, should record hours worked only from December 16 through December 31, 2022, as usual. No hours in 2023 should be recorded.

REPORT: Staff Senate Chair - John Smith

Adding to his earlier report above, Chair Smith said that as of January 1, 2023, Kroger pharmacy will no longer be included in UofL's network. At the same time, Costco and Walgreen's pharmacies will be added to the network.

REPORT: Staff Senate Vice-Chair - Kevin Ledford

Because of the holidays, many meetings were rescheduled or canceled. The big news is that the UofL Athletic Association (ULAA) board met last Friday and hired Jeff Brohm as the new football coach.

REPORT: Staff Senate Secretary-Treasurer - Carcyle Barrett

The budget report was unavailable this month, but will be sent as soon as it is submitted.

UNIVERSITY of LOUISVILLE

STAFF SENATE MEETING MINUTES December 13, 2022

REPORT: Faculty Senate Representative - Tiffney Gipson-Goodwin

No report was made.

REPORT: Student Government Update - Alex Reynolds

No report was made.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

- Committee on Anti-Racism Efforts (CARE) Leondra Gully
 - This committee had no report.
- Credentials and Nominations (C&N) Barbara Bishop
 - This report is linked above.
- Policies and Economic Development (PED) Virginia Hosono
 - o This report is linked above.
- Services and Facilities (S&F) Mark Woolwine
 - This report is linked above.
- Staff Grievance Committee (SGC) Theora Hudson
 - This report is linked above.
- Staff Help and Relief Effort (SHARE) Kari Donahue
 - o This committee reviewed two applications. One was denied.
- Staff Morale and Engagement (SME) Skip Hurley
 - o This committee had no report.

OTHER REPORTS

- Bookstore Advisory Committee Barbara Bishop
 - The report is linked above.

OLD BUSINESS

None

NEW BUSINESS

None

ANNOUNCEMENTS

There is no Staff Senate meeting in January. The next meeting is online on February 14, 2023.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 4:06 P.M.

Respectfully submitted, Gretchen Henry Senate Coordinator