Scholarships & Fellowships

Our students and alumni are being recognized for excellence by being awarded competitive scholarships and fellowships. 


Shannon Forde, MSHA Class of 2021, was offered and accepted an Administrative Fellowship at Baptist Health Louisville.

SPHIS alumna, Katlyn E McGraw, PhD, began working as a T32 Postdoctoral Fellow at Columbia University in New York on June 1.

Mary G. and Joseph Natrella Scholarship and the Biopharmaceutical Section Scholarship

Congratulations to Siddhesh Kulkarni, MS, doctoral candidate in the Department of Bioinformatics and Biostatistics, for being the first student at UofL to receive both the Mary G. and Joseph Natrella Scholarship and the Biopharmaceutical Section Scholarship.

The Biopharmaceutical Section Scholarship Award was established by the Biopharmaceutical Section of the American Statistical Association (ASA) to recognize notable research, academic achievement, and applied project work related to biopharmaceutical statistics. Applicants must be enrolled in a master’s or doctoral program in statistics or biostatistics and be a member of ASA. Five recipients received a $1,000 scholarship based on their general academic performance, leadership, volunteering, and service.

Siddhesh was also one of two recipients of the  Natrella Scholarship, which supports full-time graduate student participation in the Quality and Productivity Research Conference (QPRC). The scholarship is open to students who have a demonstrated interest in quality applications.  The committee also considers service and leadership, teaching and mentoring, authorship and research, and academic performance when selecting recipients.

He received a $3,500 grant, a $500 travel stipend, complimentary conference and pre-conference registrations. Siddesh presented “A Bayesian Approach for Joint Estimation for Sparse Canonical Correlation and Graphical Models” at the QPRC in Tallahassee, FL on July 26-29, 2021. 

Ellen M. Buchart Scholarship

MS in Health Administration student Tiff Haub, MS, ATC, LAT, was awarded a $2,000 academic scholarship from the Kentucky Public Health Association (KPHA). Awardees of the Ellen M. Buchart Scholarship  must be a member of KPHA, a junior, senior, or graduate student with a health or science major; preference is given to students in public health programs. Congratulations, Tiff!

Stay connected TwitterFacebook LinkedIn YouTubeInstagram