Research & Scholarship Committee

Flexibl Solar CellThe Research and Scholarship Committee (RSC) serves as an advisory faculty body for the Dean’s Office on matters of research and scholarship. The RSC consists of 8 members - one member representing each of the 6 Research Area Faculty Groups identified in the Speed School Strategic Plan, one ad hoc member who chairs the committee and represents faculty members who are not associated with a particular Research Area Faculty Group, and the Associate Dean for Research and Facilities (ADRF), who is a non-voting member.

Guided by the Speed School Strategic Plan, the RSC initiates school-wide research activities, identifies research opportunities, evaluates research facility requirements, and coordinate activities of Research Area Faculty Groups. In addition, the committee promotes recognition of research and scholarship by identifying candidates for local, national and international awards and recognitions. The committee reports its recommendations to the Dean’s Office as needed.

Members of the Research and Scholarship Committee meet regularly with their Research Area Faculty Groups in order to identify and communicate research opportunities; identify facility, equipment, staff and faculty needs; mentor junior faculty researchers; create news items, announcements and promotional material; and invite speakers and visitors that will advance their respective research area. The committee reports its activities regularly at faculty meetings.


Interested in joining or leaving a group?  Fill out the RSC Group Request form.