Clubs & Organizations

The J. B. Speed School of Engineering, recognizing the importance of the well-rounded person, encourages students to take part in extracurricular activities at the University. To that end, the student government, recognized student organizations (RSO's), and professional honor societies provide rich and varied opportunities to the student.  The student chapters of the national and local professional societies represent the various engineering disciplines and constituencies of the school.

Student Governments

Faculty AdvisorStudent Officer/Rep

Speed School Student Council

The mission of the Speed School Student Council is to act as the official organization of the Student Body of the J.B. Speed School of Engineering and to serve as a liaison between students, faculty, and alumni of the University of Louisville.

Jerry Willing
(502) 852-7860
Email Dr. Willing
Sydney Lucas
Student Government Association


Faculty AdvisorStudent Officer/Rep
American Institution of Chemical Engineers
Focuses on exposure to the chemical engineering field and support among students.
Jim Watters
(502) 852-0802
Email Dr. Watters

Eric hahnert

American Society of Civil Engineers / Society of American Military Engineers
Our Chapter is student led with 6 officers from the Civil Engineering Department. We are involved with multiple other collegiate, philanthropic, and professional Engineering groups. Joining ASCE/SAME is a great opportunity to meet and learn from other engineering students, meet members of Engineering faculty and graduated professional engineers, compete in Engineering competitions, and more. Mission: To enhance our members collegiate experience and professional knowledge by providing technical presentations, academic field trips, community service events, networking events, social activities, and scholarship opportunities.

Tom Rockaway
(502) 852-3272
Email Dr. Rockaway

Abby Miles

American Society of Engineers of Indian Origin (ASEI)
ASEI UofL Chapter is committed to promote STEM Intiatives and make a difference in the lives of upcoming young engineers. Experience career advancement and technology exchange. We provide young engineers with networking, events, projects, internships, research, and elite conventions.
Kunal Kate

Smith Patel

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning EngineersEllen Brehob
(502) 852-7825
Email Dr. Brehob
American Society of Mechanical EngineersThomas Berfield
(502) 852-7173
Email Dr. Berfield

Sarah Marie Taheri

Association for Computing Machinery Adrian Lauf
(502) 852-0091
Email Dr. Lauf

Tyler Ault

Email Speed ACM President

Biomedical Engineering Society

Taylor Fisher

Chemical Engineering Graduate Student Association (CHEGSA)
The purpose of this organization is to:

  • Provide a forum of communication between graduate students of chemical engineering and their faculty, the general graduate student population and the university administration.
  • To ease the transition of new graduate students into the Chemical Engineering (ChE) curriculum.
  • To allow for social interaction between graduate students and alumni.
  • To spread information of research and research facilities at U of L to other students nationwide and industry.
Jerry Willing
(502) 852-7860
Email Dr. Willing
Engineers Without BordersYoung Kim
(502) 852-4565

John Ciaramitaro

Institute of Electrical & Electronic EngineersAndre Faul
(502) 852-7910
Email Dr. Faul

Brandon Young

Institute of Industrial & Systems Engineers

Erin Gerber
(502) 852-0401
Email Dr. Gerber

Conrad Johnson

Institute for Operations Research and Management ScienceLihui Bai
(502) 852-1416
Email Dr. Bai
National Society of Black Engineers Erica Gray
(502) 852-0348
Email Erica Gray

Andre Wingate

Phi Sigma RhoKarla Welch
(502) 852-3622
Email Dr. Welch

Brandy Edwards

Renewable Energy & Energy Efficiency Club (RE3)John Naber
(502) 852-7910
Email Dr. Naber
Society of Automotive Engineers Keith Sharp
(502) 852-7280
Email Dr. Sharp

Tyler Huesman

Society of Hispanic Professional EngineersMary Andrade
(502) 852-3196

Ismarya Jimenez

Society of Women EngineersPatricia Soucy
(502) 852-0440
Email Dr. Soucy

Lucy Kurtz

Student AmbassadorsTom Brammer
(502) 852-0398
Email Tom Brammer

Speed Spectrum

Natalie Oliner
(502) 852-1229
Email Natalie Oliner
Alex Bruns
Triangle Fraternity

Jim Lewis

Sean Dobson

Competitive Teams

BajaKeith Sharp
Email Dr. Sharp

Tyler Huesman 

DerbyHacksAdrian Lauf
Email Dr. Lauf

Cullen Hacker

FormulaGary Osborne
Email Dr. Osborne

Nicolas Ferreyra

Redbird RoboticsTamer Inanc
Email Dr. Inanc

Maxwell Jones

University Student Launch Initiative Team (River City Rocketry)
This team competes in the annual NASA University Student Launch Initiative competition. Teams design, document and build an advanced high powered rocket to reach 5,280 feet altitude while taking a wide array of atmospheric data readings and including custom designed payloads. Last year's team designed a rocket with an Autonomous Recovery System, set to guide the rocket's parachute back to a designated home location.
Yongsheng Lian
(502) 852-0804
Email Dr. Lian

Matt Cosgrove/TaylorHsieh

U of L RSO's
RSO Guidelines & Application

Honor Societies

Faculty AdvisorStudent Officer/Rep
Alpha Pi Mu (Industrial)Dr. Jason Saleem
Email Dr. Saleem

Ali Davis

Chi Epsilon (Civil)Nageshwar Bhaskar
Email Dr. Bhaskar

Samantha Crowder

Eta Kappa Nu (Electrical)James Graham
Email Dr. Graham
Pi Tau Sigma (Mechanical)Roger Bradshaw
Email Dr. Bradshaw
Sigma Xi (Scientific Research) TBA
Tau Beta Pi (Engineering)Larry Tyler
Email Dr. Tyler

Patricia Ralston
Email Dr. Ralston

Jerry Willing
Email Dr. Willing
Upsilon Pi Epsilon (Computing)Eric Rouchka
Email Eric Rouchka

Updated: 04/22/2019