MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE GOVERNANCE, TRUSTEESHIP, AND NOMINATING COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE UofL RESEARCH FOUNDATION, INC., AND THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE

September 23, 2022

In Open Session

Members of the Governance, Trusteeship, and Nominating Committee of the UofL Research Foundation, Inc., Board of Directors and the UofL Board of Trustees met on September 23, 2022, at 1:00 p.m., in the Jefferson Room, Grawemeyer Hall, Belknap Campus, with members present and absent as follows:

Present: Mr. Scott Brinkman, Chair

Ms. Mary Nixon Dr. Eugene Mueller Mr. James Rogers

Absent: Ms. Diane Porter

Other Trustees

Present: Mr. Jerry Abramson

Dr. Larry Benz Mr. Dorian Brown Dr. Raymond Burse Mr. Al Cornish Ms. Diane Medley Mr. John Smith

Ms. Sherrill Zimmerman

From the

University: Dr. Lori Gonzalez, Interim President

Dr. Gerry Bradley, Interim Provost

Dr. Kevin Gardner, Executive Vice President for Research and Innovation Mr. Dan Durbin, Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration

Dr. Gail DePuy, Interim Senior Vice Provost

Ms. Angela Curry, General Counsel and Vice President for Legal Affairs Ms. Sandy Russell, Vice President for Risk, Audit, and Compliance

Ms. Mary Elizabeth Miles, Vice President for Human Resources

Ms. Mariana Barzun, Co-Interim Vice President for University Advancement

Ms. Julie Dials, Co-Interim Vice President for University Advancement

Dr. Michael Mardis, Vice President for Student Affairs, Dean of Students Mr. John Drees, Sr. Assoc. Vice President for Communications & Marketing

Ms. Shannon Rickett, Assoc. Vice President for Government Relations Mr. Rick Graycarek, Assistant Vice President for Budget and Finance

Dr. Cherie Dawson-Edwards, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

Dr. Paul DeMarco, Vice Provost for Graduate Affairs

Ms. Melanie Jacobs, Dean, Brandeis School of Law

Dr. Margaret Hill, Interim Dean, School of Dentistry

Mr. John Karman, Executive Director of Communications

Mr. Jeff Spoelker, Associate Athletic Director of Finance

Ms. Beverly Santamouris, Treasurer

Ms. Sarah Lopez, Deputy Chief of Staff, Provost's Office

Mr. Chris Wooton, Director of Internal Communications

Ms. Kim Adams, Chief Information Security Officer

Ms. Jennifer Mudd, Director of Integrity and Compliance

Ms. Stacie McCutcheon, Privacy Officer

Ms. Melissa Brown, Youth Protection Officer

Mr. Jerry Johnson, Chief of Staff, HSC Finance & Administration

Ms. Leslie Harper, Program Approval and Review Coordinator

Lt. Col. Jessica Murnock, Deputy Chief of Staff

Mr. Jake Beamer, Dir. of Governance & Strategic Initiatives & Asst. Secretary

Guests: Mr. Coby Banet, Student

Ms. Afi Tagnedji, Student

Ms. Madison Chica, Student

I. Call to Order

Chair Brinkman called the roll and having determined a quorum present, called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

Approval of Minutes, 7-14-2022

Mr. Rogers made a motion, which Ms. Nixon seconded, to approve the minutes of the July 14, 2022, meeting.

The motion passed.

II. Action Item: Revised Naming Policy

Co-Interim Vice Presidents Barzun and Dials briefed the committee on the proposed naming policy, summarizing the revisions and fielding questions from trustees.

A discussion followed, and Chair Brinkman concluded that the committee needed additional time to consider the revised policy and to allow for more input by members of the board. He requested that trustees send comments to the assistant secretary, and that the committee revisit the policy before the October Board of Trustees meeting.

There were no objections.

III. Adjournment

Having no other business to come before the committee, Mr. Rogers made a motion, which Dr. Mueller seconded, to adjourn.

The motion passed and the meeting adjourned at 1:13 p.m.

Approved by:

Signature on file_____