Fostering New Music and Its Audiences:

We will hold the Friday and Saturday sessions in Bird Hall, south wing of the School of Music.

Registration begins at 8:30 tomorrow morning.

See you then!

Rebecca and Caroline, Thursday evening, 8:30 p.m.



The Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition 30th Anniversary Conference

6-7 March 2015, University of Louisville School of Music


Keynote speakers: Robert Hasegawa (McGill University) and W. Anthony Sheppard (Williams College)

Since Witold Lutosławski won the first Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition in 1985 for his Symphony No. 3, this international prize has been bestowed upon 27 other composers, including John Adams, Pierre Boulez, and Kaija Saariaho. (See Well over one hundred works are submitted each year for this award. The final panel of judges for the award consists of laypeople with a deep interest in contemporary classical music, in recognition of the founder’s commitment to music that reaches a nonspecialist audience while maintaining the highest artistic standards. The application guidelines stipulate that each entry (including a score, recording and supporting materials) becomes part of the extensive new music collection of the University of Louisville’s Dwight Anderson Music Library.

As part of the celebration marking the 30th year of the Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition, the University of Louisville School of Music is hosting a conference to promote scholarly dialogue on new music. We invite papers on concert music and opera since 1985 from musicologists, theorists, composers, and interdisciplinary scholars, with a preference for topics pertaining to the music of Grawemeyer-winning composers or to works contained in the Music Library’s Grawemeyer Collection. (The searchable web catalogue of the collection is found at We also invite proposals for papers that explore the position of contemporary music in society and its relation to current audiences.
The proposal submission deadline is November 21, 2014.