Summer 2022

    Dear Friends,

    We have had many new and exciting changes occur in the past several months. As many of you know, Dr. Craig Roberts recently retired after 11 years of service as our Chair and 29 years of service as a faculty member. We wish him all the best in his retirement and are thankful for all he has done for this department!

    I have been given the honor of stepping in as Interim Chairperson, and I am passionate about seeing the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery continue to succeed. I joined the faculty of the Orthopaedic Department in 2016 and have greatly enjoyed my time here in Louisville. I look forward to serving as the Interim Chair.

    We hosted our Resident Graduation weekend this summer, where we recognized our resident’s hard work and presented our annual awards. The weekend kicked off with the graduation dinner, taking place at the Muhammad Ali Center. It was a beautiful evening spent overlooking the river and celebrating all our award winners. Please join me in congratulating this year’s award winners!


    • The Gerhard Kuntscher Award (best 5th year teacher) – Caleb Davis, MD
    • OJ Hurt Award (best score on OITE) - Joey Kitchen, MD and Jonathan Gardner, MD
    • K. Armand Fischer Award (most improved OITE score) - Jonathan Gardner, MD
    • Best Research Award for 2021-22 - Austin Smith, MD
    • Resident teaching Award, Full-Time Faculty: Rodolfo Zamora, MD and Gratis-Faculty: Kevin Harreld, MD

    Fischer Owen Resident Research Awards:

    3rd - Causes of Early Hip Revision Vary by Age and Sex: Analysis of Data from a Statewide Quality Registry – Jacob Markel, MD

    2nd - Improved Resource Utilization Using WALANT Hand Surgery in Adolescent – Charlie Long, MD

    1st - Non-Blinded Randomized Clinical Trial of Liposomal Bupivacaine Interscalene Nerve Block versus a Continuous Indwelling Interscalene Nerve Catheter in Total Shoulder Arthroplasty – Austin Smith, MD

    Resident of the Year Award - Caleb Davis, MD

    I am thrilled to announce that we will be adding two wonderful additions to our faculty this month. First, we have Dr. Hari Ankem who will be joining us in an Assistant Professor role. Dr. Ankem completed his Orthopaedic Traumatology fellowship here at the University of Louisville and at the American Hip Institute. He will be a tremendous addition to the faculty. Our next new faculty member is Dr. Nick Laco, who will be joining the faculty as an Assistant Professor.

    Dr. Laco has been a part of the UofL family since 2018, having completed his podiatric residency and fellowship with us. We are excited to welcome him as a faculty member.

    We are very excited for all that is happening here and look forward to a great upcoming year!


    Rodolfo Zamora, MD

    Associate Professor and Interim Chair

    Department of Orthopaedic Surgery