UofL residency programs celebrate another successful Match Day (w/ VIDEO)

Solid incoming classes fill all available spots for Internal Medicine, Combined Med-Peds residency groups
UofL residency programs celebrate another successful Match Day (w/ VIDEO)

UofL fourth-year medical students celebrate Match Day 2017, when they find out where they will continue their medical education residency's.


"Match Madness" was in full effect on St. Patrick's Day for fourth-year medical students at the University of Louisville.

March 17 was Match Day at UofL, and elsewhere nationwide, as they opened their envelopes from the National Residency Match Program to find where they had been matched for their future training as residents.

"I am pleased to announce a very successful match for the Internal Medicine Residency Program!" Jennifer Koch, M.D., FACP, Director of the UofL Internal Medicine Residency Program said. "I am excited to train this excellent group of physicians. They are a diverse and accomplished group of people who will have a lot to add to our residency program."

Conducted annually by the NRMP, The Match uses a computerized algorithm designed to the best results by aligning the preferences of applicants with the preferences of residency programs. The results are used to fill thousands of training positions available in the United States.

The UofL Internal Medicine Residency Program completed a perfect match yet again, filling 24 categorical and 13 preliminary positions.

In addition the Combined Internal Medicine-Pediatrics Residency Program, under the direction of Laura Workman, M.D., added five new members.

"I am so excited to welcome this group into our residency program," Workman said. "They are all truly excellent candidates and I look forward to working with each of them over the next four years."

Our incoming Class of 2020 includes:

Categorical Residents

  • Jonathan Alexander - St. George's University
  • Sundus Bhatti - Aga Khan University
  • Sruti Brahmandam - Northeast Ohio University
  • Jordan Cole - The Ohio State University
  • Sally Condon - St. George's University
  • Harrison Daniel - University of Tennessee
  • B. Tice Dunlavy - University of Tennessee
  • Michael Fashinpaur - Saint Louis University
  • Surosree Ganguli - University of Tennessee
  • Saarik Gupta - Northeast Ohio University
  • Meliha Hrustanovic-Kadic - University of Louisville
  • Erik Jeanes - Edward Via College
  • Brock Kabat - Southern Illinois University
  • Ryan Kaufman - University of Louisville
  • William Linville - Lake Erie College
  • Gregory Miller - Nova Southeastern
  • Quang Nguyen - University of Louisville
  • Christopher Reed - Indiana University
  • Samuel Reynolds - University of South Florida
  • Sara Sadeghi - University of Louisville
  • Aakash Shah - University of Cincinnati
  • Amal Shine - Kasturba Medical College
  • W. Tyler Smith - Medical University of South Carolina
  • Fitsum Woldesellassie - Augusta University


Preliminary Residents

  • Frederick Blodi - Des Moines University
  • Stephen Brown - University of Louisville
  • C. Alexander Carrasquer - University of Louisville
  • J. Trent Dixon - University of Louisville
  • Tyler Geers - University of Louisville
  • Joshua Heath - University of Louisville
  • Mohammed Ismail - University of Pikeville
  • Laeia Jackson - Meharry Medical College
  • Galina Mamaliga - University of Louisville
  • Robert Spaulding - University of Louisville
  • Trevor Stone - University of Louisville
  • Pritee Taxak - Marshall University
  • Emily Tiwana - University of Louisville


Combined Med-Peds Residents

  • Cristina Giles - Louisiana State University-New Orleans
  • Caleb Huber - Indiana University
  • Travis Huffman - University of Pikeville
  • Briana Kasman - Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
  • Adrienne Roark - The Ohio University


VIDEO: Match Day 2017