Awards Day 2020

Join us as we recognize the residents, fellows and faculty who have maintained a strong commitment to education, especially during extraordinary times, and also thank our trainees and wish them well as they pursue the next phase of their careers

Message from The Chair

Kristine Krueger, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Interim Chair, Department of Medicine

Message from The Director

Jennifer Koch, M.D., FACP
Professor of Medicine
Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award


Sathya Krishnasamy
Sathya Krishnasamy, M.D.

The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, annually recognizes one University of Louisville School of Medicine faculty member and one graduating medical student who embodies compassion and sensitivity in the delivery of care to patients and their family members.

Congratulations from Dr. Mokshagundam!

Anna M. Burke Resident Award for
Excellence in Quality and Safety

Daniel Martin
Daniel Martin, M.D.

Outstanding PGY 2
Teaching Award

Khushboo Gala
Khushboo Gala, MBBS

Professionalism Award


Sara Ellingwood
Sara Ellingwood, M.D.
Samuel Reynolds
Samuel Reynolds, M.D.

Department of Medicine Division Award for Excellence in Teaching

Internal Medicine group
Division of General Internal Medicine, Palliative Medicine and Medical  Education

Outstanding Senior
Resident Award

William Tyler Smith
William Tyler Smith, M.D.

Department of Medicine Fellow Award
for Excellence in Teaching

Mohammad Mathbout
Mohammad Mathbout, M.D.
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Department of Medicine Stuart Urbach Award for Excellence in Faculty Teaching

Staci Mandola
Staci Mandrola, M.D.

Division of General Internal Medicine, Palliative Care and Medical Education
Excellence in Teaching Award


Hospital Medicine

Tyler Sharpe
Tyler Sharpe, M.D.

Ambulatory Medicine

Nancy Kubiak
Nancy Kubiak, M.D.

2019-2020 In-Training Exam Award Winners


PGY1 Highest Score

Dylan Gerlach
Dylan Gerlach, D.O.

PGY2 Highest Score

Ashley Twyman
Ashley Tywman, M.D.

PGY3 Highest Score

Gregory Miller
Gregory Miller, D.O.


PGY 2 Most Improved Score

Katherine George
Katherine George, D.O.

PGY 3 Most Improved Score

Jonathan Alexander
Jonathan Alexander, M.D.

2020 Graduating Residents


Internal Medicine

  • Jonathan Alexander, Oncology/Hematology, Medical University of South Carolina
  • Sundus Bhatti, Hepatology, Baylor University
  • Sruti Brahmandam, Pulmonary/Critical Care, University of Louisville
  • Jordan Cole, Hospitalist, Atrium Health Cabarrus, Concord, NC
  • Sally Condon, Gastroenterology, University of Louisville
  • Harrison Daniel, Gastroenterology, University of Louisville
  • Bradley Tice Dunlavy, Hospitalist, Norton Healthcare, Louisville, KY
  • Sara Ellingwood, Internal Medicine Chief Resident, University of Louisville
  • Surosree Ganguli, Gastroenterology, University of Louisville
  • Saarik Gupta, Cardiology, St. Vincent Hospital, Indianapolis, IN
  • Meliha Hrustanovic-Kadic, Pulmonary/Critical Care, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Travis Huffman, Cardiology, University of Kentucky
  • Erik Jeanes, Endocrinology, University of Wisconsin
  • Brock Kabat, Hospitalist, Norton Healthcare, Louisville, KY
  • Ryan Kaufman, Hospitalist-Internal Medicine, University of Louisville
  • William Linville, Pulmonary/Critical Care, University of Louisville
  • Gregory Miller, Cardiology, Cooper University Healthcare, Camden, NJ
  • Quang Nguyen, Sleep Medicine, University of Louisville
  • Christopher Reed, Cardiology, University of Louisville
  • Samuel Reynolds, Internal Medicine Chief Resident, University of Louisville
  • Aakash Shah, VA Chief Resident for Quality and Safety, University of Louisville
  • Amal Shine, Gastroenterology, University of Louisville
  • William Tyler Smith, Internal Medicine Chief Resident, University of Louisville
  • Fitsum Woldessellassie, Gastroenterology, East Tennessee State University

Combined Internal Medicine/Pediatrics

  • Hannah Freeland, Hospitalist, Norton Healthcare, Louisville, KY
  • Benjamin Hannah, Palliative Care, University of Louisville
  • Hazar Hassuneh, Hospitalist-Internal Medicine, University of Louisville
  • Hugo Hua, Hospitalist, TBA
  • David Taylor, Hospitalist, TBA
  • Zheyi Teoh, Pediatric Infectious  Diseases, Cincinnati  Children's Hospital, Cincinnati, OH

Graduating Fellows


Cardiology Fellows

Cardiology Fellows

Sergiu Darabant
Sergiu Darabant, M.D.

Private Practice, Miami, FL


Arunpreet Kahlon
Arunpreet Kahlon, M.D.

Interventional Cardiology, William Beaumont, Royal Oak, MI


Narayana Sarma Singam
Narayana Sarma Singam, M.D.

Cardiac Critical Care, Mayo Clinic, Rochester MN


Nina Efua Williams
Nina Efua Williams, M.D.

Private Practice, Tulsa, OK

Interventional Cardiology Fellow

Neil Barry
Neil Barry, D.O.

Private Practice, Knoxville, TN

Endocrinology Fellows


Radhika Annam
Radhika Annam, M.D.

Joslin Diabetes Center Affiliate, Effingham, IL


Abhinaya Jawahar
Abhinaya Jawahar, M.D.

Erlanger Health System, Chattanooga, TN

Congrats from Dr. Mokshagundam!

Congrats from Dr. Krishnasamy!

Gastroenterology Fellows


Lisanne Anders
Lisanne Anders, M.D.

Private Practice, VA


Imad Jaafar
Imad Jaafar, M.D.

Private Practice, Dayton, OH


Nanlong Liu
Nanlong Liu, M.D.

Advanced Endoscopy, University of Florida


Aniruddh Patel
Aniruddh Patel, M.D.

Private Practice, Atlanta, GA


Brandon Wuerth
Brandon Wuerth, M.D.

Faculty, University of Louisville

Congrats from Dr. Parajuli!


Luis Marsano Teaching Award

Endashaw Omer
Endashaw Omer, M.D.


Dipendra Parajuli
Dipendra Parajuli, M.D.

Congrats from Dr.Liu!

Infectious Diseases Fellow


Kamran Mahmood, M.D.

Norton Infectious Diseases Specialists, Louisville, KY

Congrats from Dr. Raghuram!

Oncology/Hematology Fellows


Shruti Bhandari
Shruti Bhandari, M.D.

Northern Light Eastern Maine Medical Center, Bangor, ME


Phuong Ngo, M.D.

UofL Health James Graham Brown Cancer Center


Shawn Peterson
Shawn Peterson, M.D.

Baptist Health Lexington, Lexington, KY

Congrats from Dr. Rojan!

Palliative Medicine Fellow


Daniel Dierfeldt
Daniel Dierfeldt, D.O.

Faculty, University of Louisville

Congrats from Dr. Dillon!

Pulmonary/Sleep Fellows


Pulmonary Fellows

David DeLapp
David DeLapp, D.O.

Sleep Fellowship, University of Chicago


Richard Kim
Richard Kim, M.D.

Private Practice, Dallas, TX


John Price
John Price, D.O.

Private Practice, Winchester, VA

Congrats from Dr. Rivas!


Sleep Fellow

Alessandra Morello Gearhart
Alessandra Morello Gearhart, M.D.

Tulsa, OK

Congrats from Dr. Guardiola!