Center welcomes 9 new McConnell Scholars

(May 13, 2013) LOUISVILLE, Ky. – The McConnell Center welcomes its 22nd class of McConnell Scholars.
Center welcomes 9 new McConnell Scholars

(Click to enlarge)

The 9 students join the McConnell Scholars Program, a premier educational enrichment and scholarship program for high-achieving Kentuckians. The group will attend the University of Louisville on "full-ride-plus" scholarships that cover the cost of tuition, as well as funding for an extended summer study abroad program to China and a trip to Washington, D.C. Participants in the McConnell Scholars Program will receive an enhanced academic experience consisting of liberal arts study; opportunities to meet and engage prominent national, state and local leaders; and a strong focus on community service.

The 9 new McConnell Scholars are:

Jeremy Ball

Manchester, Ky. (Clay County High School)

Aaron Holder

Scottsville, Ky. (Allen County-Scottsville High School)

Alicia Humphrey

Paducah, Ky. (Paducah Tilghman High School)

Jason Jewell

Louisville, Ky. (Central High School)

Diana Lalata

Louisville, Ky. (Southern High School)

Landon Lauder

Russell, Ky. (Russell High School)

Advocate Scott

Louisville, Ky. (duPont Manual High School)

Aaron Vance

Vine Grove, Ky. (North Hardin High School)

Hannah Wilson

Bradfordsville, Ky. (Marion County High School)

In its first 20 years, the Center has given more than $2.5 million in scholarship money to more than 200 Kentucky students, mentored them to compete for elite national graduate scholarships and helped them travel the world.

U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell, together with the University of Louisville, founded the nonpartisan scholarship program in 1991 to benefit Kentucky’s best and brightest students.