Save the date: Brandeis Medal to be presented to U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor Feb. 5, 2025

Save the date: Brandeis Medal to be presented to U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor Feb. 5, 2025

The Louis D. Brandeis School of Law at the University of Louisville will present its highest honor to U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice Sonia Sotomayor on Feb. 5, 2025.

The Brandeis Medal and Lecture Series honors a recipient chosen for their devotion to economic, social or political justice and for advancing the cause of public service in the legal profession.

Sotomayor will be the seventh Supreme Court justice honored with the medal, following Harry Blackmun, Stephen Breyer, Ruth Bader Ginsberg, Elena Kagan, Sandra Day O’Connor and John Paul Stevens. Sotomayor’s commitment to public service reflects many of the values for which Louis D. Brandeis is most known and serves as a wonderful model for Brandeis Law students and its community. 

Details about the 2025 Brandeis Medal Program will be released at a future date. For now, questions can be directed to the law school at

About U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor

Sonia Sotomayor was born in Bronx, New York, on June 25, 1954. She earned a B.A. in 1976 from Princeton University, graduating summa cum laude, was a member of Phi Beta Kappa and received the Pyne Prize, the highest academic honor Princeton awards to an undergraduate. In 1979, she earned a J.D. from Yale Law School where she served as an editor of the Yale Law Journal.

Sotomayor served as assistant district attorney in the New York County District Attorney’s Office from 1979–1984. She then litigated international commercial matters in New York City at Pavia & Harcourt, where she served as an associate and then partner from 1984–1992.

In 1991, President George H.W. Bush nominated her to the U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York, and she served in that role from 1992–1998. In 1997, she was nominated by President Bill Clinton to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit where she served from 1998–2009. President Barack Obama nominated her as an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court on May 26, 2009, and she assumed this role August 8, 2009.