# MINUTES OF THE GRADUATE COUNCIL MEETING April 27, 2004 Pending Approval--DRAFT

Meeting convened at 3:02 p.m. – Dr. Michael Cuyjet presiding

Members present: David Clouthier, Vicki Hines-Martin, Carlton Hornung, Ruth Huber, Larry Hunt, Waldemar Karwowski, Bruce Kemelgor, Henry Luka, Dismas Masolo, Phyllis Metcalf-Turner, Suzanne Meeks, and Seow-Chin Ong.

Ex officio: Michael Cuyjet.

Members Absent: Susan Griffin, Jim Jumblatt, Carolyn Klinge, Ann Larson, Peter Meyer, Rammohan Ragade, Ron Sahoo, Joseph Steffen, Grant Taylor, James Wittliff, and William Wead.

Guests: Steven Koven (UPA), Peter Walton (Public Health), and Andy Frey (Social Work)

Approval of the Minutes from the March 23, 2004 meeting.
 MOTION: To approve the minutes of the March meeting. Moved by Bruce Kemelgor; seconded by Ruth Huber.
 PASSED.

## 2. Report of the Curriculum Committee

 Proposal for a Dual Master in Public Administration and Master of Urban Planning

Professor Kemelgor brought forward three proposals for review by Council. Some courses in the program overlap in both areas, or are required in the dual program. The program allows students to increase their marketability, flexibility in public administration as well as urban planning. Approved by Curriculum Committee. Dr. Koven recapped the program.

MOTION: to accept the Proposal for a Dual Master in Public Administration and Master of Urban Planning.

PASSED unanimously.

• Proposal for Combined M.D. /PhD. in Epidemiology-Clinical Investigation Sciences.

Dr. Kemelgor introduced Dr. Walton. Dr. Walton recapped the program. The combined program consists of three years in medical school, three years completing advanced work for the Ph.D., then one more year for the combined degree, for a total of 7 years. Courses are available in CREST program. Curriculum Committee approved with request that specific elective courses be made to see what was being offered. This was provided and reaffirmed merits of this traditional type program. MOTION: to approve Combined M.D./PhD. in Epidemiology-Clinical Investigation Sciences.

#### PASSED. One abstention.

PASSED.

• Addendum to the Kent School of Social Work Specialization

Dr. Kemelgor reviewed the addendum. Curriculum Committee had discussed this in their meeting regarding certification. It was suggested to table it for then. MOTION by Ruth Huber to bring it back for discussion. Seconded by Bruce Kemelgor.

Andy Frey, from Kent School, recapped the addendum. Students that complete the MA will receive certification (3 electives and portfolio required). It was determined that "Kentucky" needed to be included in the wording and the last sentence, "merely a recommendation," to be added. This is just a recommendation by the Kent School. University of Louisville does NOT grant the certification. Last sentence, 1<sup>st</sup> paragraph ("trained to work in public schools", by Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board.

MOTION: to approve addendum with changes. PASSED.

# 3. Report of the Honorary Degree Committee

Dr. Carlton Hornung commented, since he is a member of the committee. (Paula McGuffey, Assistant to the Graduate Dean, sat in on behalf of Dr. Atlas who was out of town).

MOTION: from the Honorary Degree Committee to accept the recommendations for Honorary Degrees, a Doctor of Humane Letters and a Doctor of Arts.

This motion was unanimous approval by the Honorary Degree Committee last week. Final approval will come from the Board of Trustees. Dr. Hornung reviewed the merits of each nominee. PASSED.

## 4. Report of the Membership Committee

(Ruth Huber) The following individuals were reviewed by the Membership Committee and are recommended as a member of the **Senior Graduate Faculty**:

- Manuel F. Casanova, M.D., Professor of Psychiatry and Brain Sciences
- Glynis Ridley, Ph.D., Associate Professor of English
- Mary E. Dogbe, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pan African Studies

MOTION: To approve Senior Graduate Faculty nominations. One nay; one abstention.

PASSED.

The following individual was reviewed by the Membership Committee and is recommended as a member of the **Graduate Faculty**:

• Christine T. Ehrick, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of History

MOTION: To approve the Member Graduate Faculty Nomination. PASSED.

5. Report on Graduate Council Reapportionment and Election

Each year at this time, the Graduate Council must be reapportioned and members either re-elected for a second term or replaced. The reapportioned distribution of the 22 Graduate Council seats for 2004-05 is as follows:

College of Arts and Sciences – 6

School of Medicine – 5

College of Education and Human Development – 2

Speed School of Engineering – 2

College of Business and Public Administration – 1

Kent School of Social Work – 1

School of Dentistry – 1

School of Music – 1

School of Nursing – 1

School of Public Health and Information Sciences – 1

Graduate Student Representative – 1 (elected by Graduate Student Council) The College of Business and Public Administration loses one of its two seats to

reapportionment, however, one seat is up for replacement so it will not be filled.

Graduate Council members are elected for 3-year terms and are prohibited by Graduate School Bylaws from serving more than two consecutive terms. The following Schools and Colleges must nominate Graduate Faculty members to fill Council vacancies:

College of Arts and Sciences – Must nominate candidates to replace Professor Susan Griffin, who may be re-elected.

School of Medicine – Must nominate candidates to replace Professor William Wead, who may be re-elected.

College of Education and Human Development – Must nominate candidates to replace Professor Phyllis Metcalf-Turner, who may not be re-elected.

School of Music – Must nominate candidates to replace Professor Seow-Chin Ong, who may be re-elected.

School of Nursing – Must nominate candidates to replace Professor Vicki Hines-Martin, who may be re-elected.

Kent School of Social Work – Must nominate candidates to replace Professor Ruth Huber, who may be re-elected.

Speed School of Engineering – Must nominate candidates to replace Professor Waldemar Karwowski, who may be re-elected.

MOTION to approve by Ruth Huber; seconded by Waldemar Karwowski. Discussion followed. Approve with correction to "Speed Scientific School;" on report--should be "Speed School of Engineering." PASSED.

6. Prizes, Honors, and Awards May 2004.

Award List was provided for council members. A recommendation from the Scholarship Committee was made.

MOTION: to approve the report (Four major awards, plus Deans Citations). Discussion followed that there is no award for an outstanding scholarship for merit for Masters students (not eligible for Barns Award, with obstacles). Would need to be an endowed award. Council thought this was a good idea and will discuss further. PASSED. One correction: Vasquez (no accent mark on name, correct for final print).

MOTION: by Carlton Hornung to recommend to the Scholarship committee to consider an outstanding award for Masters students, based on scholarship or merit. Seconded by Dismas Masolo. Two abstentions.

**PASSED** 

Larry Hunt requested a history on how awards are decided for Council members. Ask Scholarship Committee for recommendation for council.

MOTION to adjourn at 4:08 p.m.