# MINUTES OF GRADUATE COUNCIL MEETING January 22, 2002 Pending Approval

Meeting convened at 3:25 p.m.

Members Present: Peter Aronhime, Susan Griffin, Ruth Huber, Carolyn Klinge, Peter Meyer, Seow-Chin Ong, William Pierce, Ron Sahoo, Mary Stenger, Deborah Voltz, William Wead.

Members Absent: Faye Austin, Barbara Clark, Melanie Hurst, Waldemar Karwowski, Bruce Kemelgor, Vickie Hines-Martin, Phyllis Metcalf-Turner, George Pack, Joseph Steffen, Arthur Van Stewart, and Richard Tewksbury.

Guests: Pamela Feldhoff and Wendy Pfeffer.

In the absence of Dr. Atlas, Associate Dean Stremel presided throughout the meeting.

- MOTION: That the minutes of November 27, 2001 be approved as submitted. Motion made by William Wead and seconded by Susan Griffin. APPROVED.
- 2. Report on SROP 2002. Pam Feldhoff was introduced as the new Director of the program. A SROP Steering Committee has been formed from Council members Dr. Karwowski, Dr. Klinge, Dr. Steffen, and Dr. Tewksbury. Dr. Feldhoff is trying to coordinate the various summer programs that will be operating this summer. Material on SROP may be found on the Graduate School's web site. Flyers and information have been sent out to schools in the State of Kentucky. The stipend has been increased to \$2500 for ten weeks work with \$500 available for the laboratory. March 1 is the deadline for students to apply, the program runs from May 28-Aug. 10.
- Report of the Membership Committee.
   The following individuals were reviewed by the Membership Committee and are recommended as members of the Senior Graduate Faculty:
   Russell Vandenbroucke, D.F.A., Department of Theatre Arts, College of Arts and Sciences.

Gina Kaufmann, M.F.A., *Department of Theatre Arts*, College of Arts and Sciences.

Gary Brown, M.F.A., Department of Theatre Arts, College of Arts and Sciences.

Dawn Heinecken, Ph.D., *Department of Women's Studies*, College of Arts and Sciences.

The following individuals were reviewed by the Membership Committee and are recommended as members of the **Graduate Faculty**:

Ibrahim N. Inman, Ph.D., Computer Engineering and Computer Science Department, Speed Scientific School.

Ramona Stone, Ph.D. to be awarded by UofL, Kent School of Social Work.

MOTION: The Membership Committee report as amended be accepted. PASSED.

### 4. Report of the Curriculum Committee.

Dr. Sahoo reported on the proposal for the MA in French and MA in Spanish. Dr. Wendy Pfeffer was present to give an overview and answer questions. Programs bring into alignment what students really want, changing from an emphasis on literature to culture. APPROVED

## 5. Report of the Nominations Committee.

Student Academic Grievance Committee of Graduate School needs one more member and two student members. Dr. Dale Schuscke of the Department of Physiology & Biophysics has agreed to serve in the place of a Committee member on sabbatical this term. Names of other interested individuals should be forwarded to Dr. Stremel.

#### 6. Thesis/Dissertation Guidelines.

The Guidelines were approved with several minor corrections. Corrections will be made by Dr. Stremel and then put on the web site and each department chair and dean will receive a copy of each document. Dr. Rowe is working on a mailing to all graduate programs.

## 7. Task Force Report on the Institutional Environment.

Discussion included who wrote document? Was this what the committee wanted? The Report does not reflect what changes have been made in the Graduate School; addresses Graduate School but not Professional Schools. The intent of the committee is unclear and questions were raised as to whom the survey was distributed. Council was asked to provide written comments to Dr. Stremel so that a response to the Report may be formulated.

Meeting was adjourned at 4: 35 p.m.