Scholarships and Awards

Departmental Scholarships

The following scholarship opportunities are available to students and potential students in the Department of Geography and Geosciences.

The Janet and Bill Dakan Fellowship in Urban Geography
Beginning with the 2016-2017 academic year, the Dept. of Geographic and Environmental Sciences will be accepting applications for the Janet and Bill Dakan Fellowship for Urban Geography. The Dakan Fellowship will be awarded to one exceptional incoming student with research interests in urban geography. This $10,000 award will be distributed to the recipient over a two-year period in support of the recipient's tuition and fees. Please contact the department for information about how to apply.

Other Opportunities

KAMP Scholarship

The Kentucky Association of Mapping Professionals (KAMP) offers competitive scholarship awards to all students enrolled full-time in degree program with emphasis on GIS at any accredited 2- or 4-year college in Kentucky. For more information, including application procedures and deadlines, visit

UofL Institutional Scholarships

The University of Louisville offers a variety of scholarship opportunities for qualified candidates. Please visit the Scholarships page on the Admissions website for more info. 

Departmental Awards

The Department of Geography and Geosciences recognizes the achievements of our outstanding students by conferring a number of departmental awards.

The Lou Seig Award for Outstanding Graduating Senior in Geography
The Lou Seig Award is the highest Departmental honor for undergraduate students. One recipient is selected by the faculty from each graduating class at the conclusion of each spring semester. 

The Leonard G. Pardue Award
The Pardue Award is given on an annual basis to an outstanding nontraditional Geography student selected by the faculty. 

Outstanding Graduate Student
The Outstanding Graduate Student Award is given on an annual basis to one graduating Master's student selected by the faculty.