Radiation Safety Committee

The University has been granted two "Type A - broad scope" licenses for radioactive material possession by the state of Kentucky. As a condition of these licenses the University has chartered the Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) as the oversight committee for issues of radiation safety at the University and U of L Hospital. RSC membership includes representatives of both the faculty and administration. The RSC sets University policies and oversees the implementation of all aspects of the safe use of radioisotopes and radiation on the Belknap campus, the Health Sciences Campus, the Shelby Campus and the U of L Hospital. The goal of the RSC is to ensure the protection of all University personnel and the general public regarding the safe use of radioisotopes and radiation.

The RSC meets quarterly. Meetings are usually held on Friday afternoon starting at 2:00pm. Meetings are sometimes rescheduled, so please check the DEHS calendar to confirm meeting dates and locations.

Forms & Documents

Application for Authorization to Use Radioactive Material (PDF)

Department of Environmental Health And Safety

Main Office

1800 Arthur Street

Louisville, Kentucky 40208


tel (502) 852-6670

fax (502) 852-0880

Department of Environmental Health And Safety

Radiation Safety Office

319 Abraham Flexner Way

Louisville, Kentucky 40202


tel (502) 852-5231

fax (502) 852-8911

Office Hours

M-F 8:00 am to 4:30 pm

No holiday hours

IH Service Account


IBC Service Account