Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Resource Library Public Health and Information Sciences Resources

Public Health and Information Sciences Resources

Looking for a Job in Public Health

Public health professionals work in both the public and private sectors. Many public health graduates will find work in the public sector in local, state, or federal health departments. The jobs available at health departments range from Food Safety Inspectors to Health Educators; from Policy Analysts to Epidemiologists. Other public health professionals will find work in university systems as researchers.

Those interested in working for a non-profit organization can find jobs in health advocacy, policy, or research for organizations such as the American Cancer Society, the Red Cross, or a local non-profit that focuses on specific health issues.

Still other public health professionals will find work in the private sector - working in randomized control trials for pharmaceutical companies or for health insurance companies.

Taken directly from - http://www.whatispublichealth.org/faqs/index.html#career_faqs5.


SPHIS Four Year Career Planning Guide

General

www.apha.org/about/careers - APHA CareerMart

www.publichealthjobs.net - Public Health Jobs

www.jobspublichealth.com - Public Health Jobs Worldwide

cfusion.sph.emory.edu/PHEC/phec.cfm - Public Health Employment Connection

www.cste.org - Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologist

cfusion.sph.emory.edu/PHEC/phec.cfm?section_id= - Rollins School of Public Health (Public Health Employment Connection)

www.epimonitor.net/EpidemiologyMonitor/Index.htm - EPI Monitor  (some free, otherwise subscription for student=$45)

www.epidemiologic.org/jobs/2008/02/new-epidemiologist-jobs-february-23-and.html - Epidemiology Job Board

www.epiresearch.org - Society for Epidemiological Research (have to be a member to get to jobs)

www.whatispublichealth.org/careers/index.html - What is Public Health?

phpartners.org/jobs.html - Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce

www.healthcareers.org/main/careers.htm - Health Career Connection

nationaljobs.washingtonpost.com/a/all-jobs/list/q-Public+Health - Washington Post

www.amstat.org/careers/index.cfm?fuseaction=main - American Statistical Association

www.phf.org/about/links.htm - Public Health Foundation

 

Federal Government

www.usajobs.gov - United States Federal Government

www.makingthedifference.org/federalcareers/medicalpublichealth.shtml - Federal Government

www.hhs.gov/careers/index.html - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

www.usphs.gov - Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service

www.epa.gov/epahrist - Environmental Protection Agency

www.who.int/employment/en - World Health Organization

www.cdc.gov/employment - Centers for Disease Control

 

State & Local Government

www.astho.org - State Health Agencies via ASTHO

www.naccho.org/careers - Local Health Departments via NACCHO

www.thejobpage.gov/statelocal.asp - State and Local Government Links

 

Academic

www.chronicle.com/jobs - Academe This Week

www.academploy.com - Academic Employment Network 
www.apnjobs.com/apn.html - Academic Position Network 

 

Private

www.averioninc.com - Averion, Inc.

www.lilly.com/careers - Eli Lilly & Company
www.gene.com/gene/careers/index.html - Genentech Job Opportunities

www.medzilla.com - Jobs in Biotechnology

www.california.plusjobs.com - +Jobs California

www.jsi.com/JSIInternet - John Snow Incorporated

cjo.lbl.gov - Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

www.lewin.com - Lewin Group

www.mayoclinic.org/jobs - Mayo Clinic Online Career Center

www.merck.com/careers - Merck & Co

www.pharmiq.com - Pharmametrics GmbH

www.ppdi.com/careers - PPD, Inc. Biostatistics Job Opportunities

hum-molgen.org/positions - Positions in Bioscience and Medicine

 

Consulting/Research Companies

www.rti.org/index.cfm - RTI International

www.sra.com/cro - SRA International, Inc.

www.westat.org - Westat

www.neriscience.com/web/default.asp - New England Research Institute

www.macrointernational.com - Macro International, Inc.

www.abtassociates.com - Abt Associates Inc.

www.phi.org/about/employment.html - Public Health Institute

www.ehagroup.com - EHA Consulting Group, Inc (Public Health, Epidemiology, & Food Safety Consultants)

 

Louisville Area

Louisville Metro Health  - www.louisvilleky.gov/HumanResources
UofL Human Resources - louisville.edu/jobs
VA Health System - www.jobsearch.vacareers.va.gov/public.asp
American Cancer Society - careers.peopleclick.com/careerscp/client_acs/external/search.do
American Heart Association - https://sh.webhire.com/public/835
American Lung Association - www.lungusa.org
Apheresis Services - https://www.apheresisservices.com/jobs.cfm
Baptist Healthcare System - hr.bhsi.com/nonemployee.html
Norton Healthcare - www.nortonhealthcare.com/careers/index.aspx
Jefferson Community and Tech. College - www.jcc.kctcs.edu/administration/human_resources/employment.php
Sullivan University - www.sullivan.edu/hr/jobs
Floyd Memorial Hospital - www.floydmemorial.org/cm/currentJobs.jsp?role=3
SHPS - www.carewisehealth.com/corp/about/careers.stm
Bellarmine University - www.bellarmine.edu/hr/jobs/jobs.asp
Spalding University - www.spalding.edu/content.aspx?id=1874&cid=802
UofL Healthcare - www.uoflhealthcare.org/Default.aspx?tabid=394
Accurate Health Assessment - no website available
Addiction Recovery Center - arak-info.org
Adenta Inc (HQ) www.adenta-dental.com  No information listed on this site.
Aetna/US Healthcare - www.aetna.com
Al-Anon - www.al-anon.alateen.org
Alchohol Affects Education & Counseling, Inc. - no website available
Alcohol Awareness & Counseling - no website available
Alcohol Education & Counseling Services - no website available
Alliance of Community Hospice & Pallative Care Services, Inc. (HQ) - www.hosparus.org
Almost Family - www.almostfamily.com
American Health Foundation - www.americanhealthfoundation.com
Anthem Insurance Co., Inc - www.anthem.com No info at this address.
Ardus Medical Inc. - www.ardusmedical.com
Atria Communities, Inc. (HQ) - www.atriaseniorliving.com
Baptist Healthcare System (HQ) - www.bhsi.com/Left+Navigation/Careers+with+Baptist
Bingham Child Guidance Center - www.binghamchildguidancecenter.com
Bio-Medical Application of Louisville, Inc. - www.fmcna.com Parent Companies: Fresenius Medical
Bridges Healthcare, Inc. - no website available
Britthaven, Inc. (branch) - www.britthaven.com
Burnham Woods Counseling Center, Inc. - www.bettermoodsbetterminds.com/index.html
Care Center Three Quarter House - no website available
Caretenders Home Health Service - www.caretenders.com
Caretenders Infusion Corp. (HQ) - no website available
Caring for You, Inc. - www.caringforyouinc.com
Caritas Health Services, Inc. (branch) - www.caritas.com
Caritas Valley Medical (HQ) - no website available
Cedar Lake Lodge, Inc. - www.cedarlake.org
Center for Integrative Health - www.cihlouisville.com
Center The Lipid, Inc. - no website available
Choice Inc. - no website available
Columbia Hospital Corp. of KY (branch) - www.onesourcemed.com
Concentra, Inc. (branch) - www.cmconnect.com, www.concentra.com
Consilium Healthcare Intl. - no website available
Cornerstone Healthcare, Inc. - www.cornerstonehealthcare.net
Coventry Health Care, Inc. (branch) - www.cvty.com
D & R Pharmaceutical, Inc. (HQ) - no website available
Davita (branch) - www.davita.com
Dept. of Human Services Program for Senior Citizens - no website available
Energy Wise Health Homes, Inc. - no website available
Episcopal Church Home - www.echky.org
Examination Management Services, Inc. (branch) - www.emsinet.com, www.atlantasouthemsi.com
Extendicare Health Services, Inc. - www.extendicarehealth.com (This website goes to Alabama)
Family & Children Mental Health Services - no website available
Family Tree Care Services- familytreecareservices.com
Fms of South Central - no website available
Ford Community Health Care - no website available
Frager Assoc., Inc. - www.frager.com
Frazier Rehab Center - www.frazierrehab.org
Fresenius Medical Care North America, Inc (branch) - www.fmcna.com
Genetic Links Corp. - no website available
Genex Services, Inc (branch) - www.genexservices.org, www.genexservices.com
Gentiva Health Services, Inc (branch) - www.gentiva.com
Gentle Care, Inc. - no website available
Gericare Inc. - no website available
Glen Ridge Health Campus - www.trilogyhs.com
Golden LivingCenters - www.goldenlivingcenters.com/home.aspx
HCA, Inc. (branch) - www.hcahealthcare.com (for career info, check out this website)
Health Care and Retirement Corp. of America (branch) - no website available
KY Cabinet for Health and Family Services (branch) - chfs.ky.gov/contact
Healthcare Services - no website available
Healthessentials Solutions, Inc. (HQ) - no website available
Healthsouth Corp. (branch) - www.healthsouth.com   (for career info-see website)
Home Instead Senior Care - www.homeinstead.com
Homeless Healthcare - no website available
Hospital Audit Locus, Inc. - no website available
Humana - www.humana.com/about/careers
Integrity Healthcare Service, Inc. (HQ) - www.integrityservices.com
Interim Healthcare Clinic - www.interimhealthcare.com
Jefferson County Board of Education - www.jefferson.k12.ky.us (see website for jobs info)
Jewish Hospital Healthcare Services, Inc. (HQ) - www.caritas.com
KY Dept. for Mental Health and Mental Retardation Services - mhmr.ky.gov/kdmhmrs/default.asp
KY Hospital Service Corp. - no website available
Keystone Services, Inc - www.kynursing.com
Kindred Healthcare, Inc. (HQ) - www.kindredhealthcare.com
Kosair Children's Hospital
Landmark Healthcare, Inc. - www.landmarkhealthcare.com
Leap, Inc. - www.leapcommunity.org
Long Term Care Advisors - www.longtermcareins.info
Mariner Health Care, Inc. (branch) - www.marinerhealth.com  (No info available online)
Medical Asset Management - www.medicalassetmanagement.com
NCS Healthcare, Inc. - no website available
North Hardin Health & Rehab - www.seniorcare-corp.com/communities/North_Hardin_SeniorCare.html
Norton Healthcare - www.nortonhealthcare.com
Omega Biomedical & Technology - no website available
Park Duvalle Community Health Center, Inc. (HQ) - www.pdchc.org
Passport Health of KY - www.passporthealthky.com
Pathways Center for Eating Disorders - www.visionarypath.org
Pharmerica, Inc. (branch) - www.pharmerica.com
Planned Parenthood of Louisville, Inc (HQ) - www.plannedparenthood.org/about-us/jobs-and-volunteer.asp
Pmt Medical Inc - www.pmtmedical.com
Precarin - no website available
Presbyterian Homes and Services of KY, Inc. (HQ) - www.phsk.org
Prison Health Services, Inc. (branch) - www.asgr.net, www.prisonhealth.com
Quality Home Management - no website available
REACH of Louisville, Inc. - www.reachoflouisville.com
Regional Life & Development - no website available
Rehab Management Services, Inc. - www.rehabmgmt.com
Res-Care, Inc. (HQ) - www.rescare.com
Right At Home - www.louisville.rightathome.net
Sacred Heart Village, Inc - no website available
St. Elizabeth Maternity Center - www.stelizabethcatholiccharities.org
Select Medical Corp. (branch) - www.selectmedicalcorp.com/main.html
Senior Care, Inc. - www.seniorcare-corp.com
Seniorcare, LLC (HQ) - www.seniorcarellc.com
Seven Counties Services, Inc. (branch) - www.sevencounties.org
Sleep Apnea Center Louisville - no website available
Spectracare Infusion Pharmacy, Inc. (HQ) - no website available
Speech Language Therapy Assoc. - no website available
Springhurst Pines Senior Community - springhurstpines.org
St. Jude's Children's Research Hospital-Center - www.stjude.org/stjude/v/index.jsp?vgnextoid=f2bfab46cb118010VgnVCM1000000e2015acRCRD
Stat Care Pharmacy, Inc (HQ) - www.statcarepharmacy.com
Stillpoint, Inc. - no website available
The Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society (branch) 0 www.good-sam.com
The Home of the Innocents, Inc. - www.homeoftheinnocents.org
Transitional Hospitals Corp. (HQ) - no website available
Uncommon Care, Inc. - no website available
Vencare KY, Inc (HQ) - no website available
Wellspring (HQ) - www.wellspring-house.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Document Actions
Personal tools