About University of Louisville


The University of Louisville is a state supported research university located in Kentucky's largest metropolitan area. It was a municipally supported public institution for many decades prior to joining the university system in 1970. The University has three campuses. The 287-acre Belknap Campus is three miles from downtown Louisville and houses seven of the university's 12 colleges and schools. The Health Sciences Center is situated in downtown Louisville's medical complex and houses the university's health related programs and the University of Louisville Hospital. The 243-acre Shelby Campus is located in eastern Jefferson County.

Fall 2016 Enrollment

  • Total: 22,640
  • Undergraduate: 16,033
  • Graduate: 5,808
  • In-state: 16,723
  • Out of State: 5,971

Academic Schools and Colleges

  • College of Arts & Sciences
  • Brandeis School of Law
  • College of Business
  • School of Dentistry
  • College of Education & Human Development
  • School of Graduate & Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Kent School of Social Work
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Music
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Public Health & Information Sciences
  • J.B. Speed School of Engineering