BFSA Staff Award

Dr. Mordean Taylor-Archer Service Award

Dr. Mordean Taylor-Archer served for 18-years as the Vice Provost for Diversity and International Affairs at the University of Louisville. Under her leadership, UofL received the Higher Education Excellence in Diversity (HEED) Award and The Minority Access Commitment to Diversity Award multiple years. In addition, UofL was recognized as one of the most LGBT-friendly universities in the South by Campus Pride. Also, she was instrumental in supporting UofL’s affinity or employee resource groups, including the Black Faculty/Staff Association. She retired on June 30, 2019.

This service award is name in her honor for: (1) her years of dedicated service to promoting diversity, equity and inclusion at UofL, (2) her character, and (3) her support of the activities and actions of BFSA. It is intended to recognize and reward UofL staff who exhibits exceptional service to the university or the local community in the spirit and appreciation of BFSA’s mission.

Any UofL faculty, staff, student, or administrator may nominate a deserving staff nominee; however, no self-nominations will be allowed without a formal letter of nomination from others.

More information on the 2020-2021 application cycle coming soon. 

2019-2020 Award Winner: Carrye Wilkins