College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Assembly February 28, 2014

Anthropology: J. Haws

Classical & Modern Languages: L. Baixauli, R. Buchanan, M. Carriere, D. Coyne,

W. Cunningham, M. Dalle, B. Fonseca-Greber, J. Gabbard, J. Greene, G. Hutcheson, A. Leidner,

R. Luginbill, A. Mastri, F. Nuessel, W. Pfeffer, M. Rodriguez,

R. Roebuck, C. Sullivan, W. Yoder

Communication: M. Cunningham, M. D'Silva, J. Ferré, A. Futrell, G. Leichty

English: M. Biberman, J. Dietrich, S. Griffin, A. Jaffe, B. Leung,

G. Ridley, S. Ryan, S. Schneider, D. Tanner, A. Willey,

T. Yohannes

Fine Arts: S. Jarosi

Geography/Geosciences: C. Day, A. Gaughan, C. Hanchette, K. Mountain, W. Song

History: D. Krebs

Humanities: A. Allen, M. Moazzen, P. Pranke

Justice Administration: G. Higgins, T. Hughes, D. Keeling, G. Vito

Mathematics: C. Biro, M. Bradley, L. Larson, R. Powers, S. Young

Philosophy: R. Kimball
Physics: D. Brown
Political Science: R. Payne

Sociology: C. Negrey, J. Rieger

Theatre Arts:

Urban & Public Affairs:

Women's & Gender Studies:

D. Heinecken

Guests – Disability Resource Ctr: C. Gettys, C. Patus

Professor Byers, Chair, called the Assembly to order.

The minutes of the Assemblies of October 25, November 1, and November 22, 2013, were approved as distributed.

The Chair, noting that he would not be able to be present at the Assemblies scheduled for March and April, asked the Assembly to join him in expressing its thanks to Interim Dean Ferre' and to Assistant Dean Taylor for their service to the College and to the Assembly.

The Chair opened the floor for nominations for Assembly officers for AY 14-15. Professor Andrew Rabin, Department of English, and Professor Dawn Heinecken, Department of Women's and Gender Studies, were unanimously elected Chair and Parliamentarian respectively.

Professor Krebs moved, seconded by the Planning and Budget Committee, approval of the name change of the Department of Justice Administration to the Department of Criminal Justice. Professor Keeling, chair of the department, spoke to the reasons for this request. Hearing no call for further discussion, the Chair put the question and the motion carried.

Professor T. Yohannes, Chair of Admissions and Appeals, and Professor Roebuck, Chair of Curriculum and Standards, moved and seconded the proposal to designate course alternatives to mathematics General Education courses for students with disabilities that impact mathematical processing. It was noted that the proposal had been prepared in consultation with the Department of Mathematics and the Disabilities Resource Center.

The Chair ruled that the course alternatives contained in the proposal were a part of the motion.

Ms. Gettys and Ms. Pattus from the DRC provided context for the proposal.

Professor Kimball moved the deletion of PHIL 311 from the list of proposed alternatives. The motion was seconded. Discussion included Professors Yoder, Yohannes, and Rieger.

Hearing no call for further discussion, the Chair put the question and the motion to delete carried.

Continuing discussion of the proposal included Professors Griffin, Pfeffer, Yohannes, Bradley, and Allen and Ms. Pattus.

In response to a question about approving additional courses as alternatives to the GER-Math requirement, Professor Roebuck responded that the Curriculum Committee's expectation was that they would be submitted as were any other requests for General Education status, first to the Curriculum Committee and then to the General Education Course Committee. Professor Yohannes also clarified that the intent of the proposers was that any course used as a substitution for GEN-Math could not double count for another General Education or A&S programmatic requirement.

The Chair noted that the motion, if approved, would be forwarded as a recommendation to the university-wide General Education Course Committee.

Hearing no call for further discussion, the Chair put the question and the motion as amended carried.

Professor Rieger asked that the minutes record the Assembly's appreciation of the work of the Disabilities Resource Center.

Professor Pfeffer asked that the minutes record the Assembly's appreciation of Professor Byers' service as Chair.

There being no additional business, the Assembly adjourned.