Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Campus News President James Ramsey presents first Community Spirit Awards

President James Ramsey presents first Community Spirit Awards

by Judy Hughes, communications and marketing last modified Apr 15, 2013 04:00 PM

University of Louisville President James Ramsey helped honor Louisville residents for their community outreach efforts April 14 during a UofL-Yearlings Club event.

President James Ramsey presents first Community Spirit Awards

UofL employee Diane Whitlock, center, was among the award recipients.

The awards, which honor a sustained commitment to improving the quality of life of community citizens and students, salute volunteers and professionals whose civic engagement and social responsibility extend beyond their expected service.

Recipients were:

  • Diane Whitlock, community volunteer and assistant to the UofL vice provost for diversity and international affairs. She has volunteered for the Healing Place and was instrumental in starting the lecture series.
  • Eboni Neal Cochran, environmental activist in the Rubbertown area and founder of the West Louisville Math & Science Project Inc.
  • Tom Moffett, community and civil rights activist; member of the Kentucky Alliance against Racist and Political Repression.
  • Ruth Bryant, civil rights activist, especially in the area of affordable housing, was honored posthumously. Her daughter, Metro Councilwoman Cheri Bryant Hamilton, received the award.

The new awards program marks the 10th anniversary of the UofL/Yearlings Club discussion series, which runs monthly during the regular school year at the club. The series seeks to bring university faculty members and residents together to share expertise, discuss issues and forge bonds.

The Yearlings Club, established in 1951, is devoted to promoting civic responsibility, community service and leadership development.

Document Actions
Personal tools