Faculty Accolades - Fall 2019

UofL SPHIS Department of Health Management & Systems Sciences Chair named to federal advisory board

Christopher E Johnson, Ph.D., professor, chair, Department of Health Management and Systems Sciences, has been appointed to the Defense Health Board (DHB) Health Care Delivery Sub Committee, which advises the Secretary of Defense on matters relating to health for retired and active members of the military and their families.

The DHB is a Federal Advisory Committee and its mission is to provide independent authoritative advice to maximize the health, safety, and effectiveness of the United States Armed Forces. The DHB makes recommendations and provides independent advice on matters pertaining to: healthcare policy, program management, requirements for the treatment and prevention of disease and injury, health research programs, promotion of health and the delivery of health care to Department of Defense health care beneficiaries.

The Health Care Delivery Subcommittee will emphasize disease management, health promotion, health care delivery personnel, infrastructure, patient safety, and quality management.

Craig H. Blakely, Ph.D., M.P.H., dean of the University of Louisville School of Public Health and Information Sciences, was appointed to the DHB in 2015. Read more.

Dr. Ray Yeager wins poster competition at American Association of Geographers annual meeting

Ray Yeager, Ph.D., M.P.H., assistant professor, Department of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, won the International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health sponsored poster competition for Geography, GIScience and Health at the American Association of Geographers 2019 annual meeting in Washington, D.C. His submission examined the associations between street canopy and exposure to harmful volatile organic compounds and was titled “Association between exposure to volatile organic compounds and streetscape tree canopy.”

Stay connected TwitterFacebookLinkedInYouTubeInstagram