El-Baz Named to UofL Top 4 Faculty Favorites

Dr. Ayman El-Baz has been named a “Top 4” Faculty Favorite of 2015-2016 through an online poll of university students.

El-Baz joined the faculty at UofL in 2006, and is an expert in the fields of bio-imaging modeling and non-invasive computer-assisted diagnosis systems.  In  2009, he was named a Coulter Fellow for his contribution in the biomedical translational research. Most recently, El-Baz has been appointed Chair of the Department of Bioengineering at the J.B. Speed School of Engineering effective October 1.

One nomination stated that he is a “Fascinating teacher with a lecture method that ensures a full understanding of the subject material” while another submitted “He keeps his audience alert by challenging their minds.”

“Dr. El-Baz is a god among mere mortals. He is a leading expert in the field of Medical Imaging and cares enough to truly impart his knowledge to his students,” declared another student. “He is a very approachable man and one of the greatest professors I have ever had the pleasure to learn from. Words cannot describe the respect I have for him.”

El-Baz and all nominated faculty favorites will be honored at luncheon on February 10, 2017 in conjunction with the 2017 Celebration of Teaching and Learning.

“I am delighted so many students took the time to nominate their favorite faculty member because it demonstrates how much they appreciate our faculty’s efforts,” said Dr. Gale S. Rhodes, Associate University Provost and Executive Director of the Delphi Center for Teaching and Learning.

Other Speed School faculty who received nominations were:

DepartmentFaculty Member
BioengineeringHermann Frieboes
BioengineeringMartin O'Toole
BioengineeringThomas Roussel
BioengineeringPatricia Soucy
BioengineeringMichael Voor
Chemical EngineeringDelaina Amos
Chemical EngineeringThomas Starr
Computer Engineering/Computer ScienceHichem Frigui
Computer Engineering/Computer ScienceAdrian Lauf
Computer Engineering/Computer ScienceRoman Yampolskiy
Engineering FundamentalsGale Crush
Engineering FundamentalsAdrienne Parsons
Engineering FundamentalsPatricia Ralston
Industrial EngineeringErin Gerber
Mechanical EngineeringSundar Atre
Mechanical EngineeringThomas Berfield
Mechanical EngineeringEllen Brehob
Mechanical EngineeringWilliam Hnat
Mechanical EngineeringKevin Murphy
Mechanical EngineeringGary Osborne