Ph.D. candidates to participate in doctoral hooding ceremony

Dr. Beth A. Boehm, Dean of the School of Interdisciplinary and Graduate Studies has announced award and honors recipients for the Winter 2014 Commencement.

These individuals were nominated by their program's Chair, Director of Graduate Studies or their faculty mentor. After careful review by The Scholarship and Awards Committee of the Graduate Council, these individuals were recognized as outstanding in their respective disciplines.

The following students were invited to the Doctoral Hooding and Graduation Ceremony on Friday, December 18, 2015, 3:00 PM, KFC Yum! Center. During the ceremony, doctoral recipients will participate, with their faculty mentors, in the vesting ceremony and will have their degrees conferred by President James Ramsey.

The following students have completed their Ph.D.:

    Sam Abdollahian
    Civil Engineering
    Associate Professor Thomas Rockaway
    Dissertation:  Assessing the Water Quality Benefits of Green Infrastructures Stormwater Control Measures

    Masoudeh Ahmadi
    Chemical Engineering
    Associate Professor Gerold Willing
    Dissertation:  Heat Transfer Mechanisms in Water-Based Nanofluids

    Amine Ben Khalifa
    Computer Science and Engineering
    Professor Hichem Frigui
    Dissertation:  Multiple Instance Fuzzy Inference

    Maria de Lourdes Carreon Garciduenas
    Chemical Engineering
    Professor Mahendra Sunkara
    Dissertation:  Plasma Catalysis Using Low Melting Point Metals

    Jubin Chen
    Mechanical Engineering
    Associate Professor Thomas Berfield
    Dissertation:  Mechanics of Electrode Materials in Lithium Battery Applications

    Takiyah K. Cooper
    Computer Science and Engineering
    Associate Professor Ahmed Desoky
    Dissertation:  Excluisve-Or Preprocessing and Dictionary Coding of Continuous-Tone Images

    Stefan Jedeck
    Industrial Engineering
    Assistant Professor Li Yang
    Dissertation:  Spare Parts on Demand Using Additive Manufacturing:  A Simulation Model for Cost Evaluation

    Farid Nemati
    Civil Engineering
    Professor William McGinley
    Dissertation:  Macro Model for Solid and Perforated Masonry Infill Shear Walls

    Swathi Sunkara
    Chemical Engineering
    Professor Mahendra Sunkara
    Dissertation:  New Visible Light Absorber for Solar Fuels: GaSbN

    Kai Zeng
    Industrial Engineering
    Professor Brent Stucker
    Dissertation:  Optimization of Support Structures for Selective Laser Melting