Mid-Central Regional ACM Programming Contest

Satellite Site: University of Louisville

Associated satellite site universities, please register your teams online.

Saturday, November 1, 2014

J.B.Speed School of Engineering
University of Louisville
Louisville, KY 40292

Directions: Navigate to Speed School

Schedule:

TimeLocationEvent & Details

9:30 AM – 10.10 AM ET

8:30 AM – 9.10 AM, CT

Duthie Center (DC) Foyer Lower Level

Arrival and Check-In

Teams and coaches arrive at the Duthie Center and report to the local site registrar. A small continental breakfast is provided (TBD).  Judges will meet in room CECS Conference Room. [Contestants’ coats and bags, except for allowable items, to be kept in room <TBD>.]

10:15 AM - 10:30 AM ET

9:15 AM -9.30 AM, CT

JBS100
Alternate DC117

Welcome

  • (i) Official welcome to the teams and coaches from the Speed School of Engineering and Site Coordinator, the introduction of IBM representatives or other special guests who may be in attendance, and a thank-you to the volunteers who made this site's participation possible.
  • (ii) Orientation: the contest facilities, procedures (general meeting location, team workstations, judging area, central bulletin board location, restrooms, etc.).

AT THIS TIME THE JUDGES AND THE CONTESTANTS WILL SEPARATE. THEY ARE NOT ALLOWED TO MEET TILL THE START OF THE CONTEST.

JUDGES PLEASE GO TO CECS Conference Room, upper level Duthie Center.
CONTESTANTS PLEASE GO TO ROOMS JBS107 OR JBS203 AS APPROPRIATE.

10:30 AM - 11:35 AM ET

9:30 AM -10.35 AM, CT

JBS107, JBS203

Practice session -- Labs

(walking with guides from the Auditorium)

The Site Coordinator or his representative meets with the contestants to review the rules and discuss site-specific policies. The meeting is in the Labs and sample practice problems are provides for practice and learning the procedures. Contestants have time from the end of the practice session until 1:05pm (12.05 CT) for lunch, which is provided. At 1:10PM (12.10 ct) all meet in the Auditorium. No visit to the Labs between the end of the practices and 1:15 PM.

10:30 AM - 1:15 PM ET

9.30 AM – 12.15 PM CT

CECS Conference Room

Coaches' Meeting

The Site Coordinator or his representative meets with the coaches. Contest problems are opened and discussed, and judging duties are determined. Boxed lunches for the coaches is included at the meeting location.

11:45 AM - 12:55 PM ET

10.45 AM -11.55 AM, CT

Duthie Center Commons

CECS Conference Room

Lunch

for Contestants and helpers are in the Duthie Center Commons

Box lunches for judges are in CECS Conference Room, DC Upper Level. Judges please go to JBSpeed 016 on the lower level after picking up your box lunch.

1:00 PM ET

12 Noon CT

JBS100All teams report to the Auditorium
1:15 PM - 1:30 PM

To Your Stations

Teams report to their workstations [guided from the Auditorium] and coaches report to the judging area. Sealed contest questions and necessary contest materials are distributed to the teams at 1:29PM [ET]   [12.29 PM, CT].

1:30 PM

Contest Begins

Let the joy commence. Time of the Contest is measured by the Head Judge and the Site Director and the schedule may be modified if needed.

[note:  No contestants or others except authorized judges and coaches are allowed on the lower level JB Speed after 12.55PM.]

6:15 PM ET

5:15 PM CT

15-Minute Warning

Contestants are notified that the contest will end in 15 minutes.

6:30 PM ET

5:30 PM CT

Contest Ends

No further submissions or dialogue requests are accepted.

6:30 PM - 7:00 PM ET

5:30 PM – 6.00 PM, CT

Site Results

The site judges finish all last-minute entries, double-check and finalize the scores on the web, and send solutions for any teams ranked in the top five in the region to the Regional Chief Judges for validation. Pizza for all participants starting around 6:35 PM. – Duthie Commons area.

7:00 PM - 7:45 PM ET

6:00 PM – 6.45 PM , CT

Duthie Center 117

Site Awards

The top four teams at each site receive ribbons, and in addition the top three or more teams at each site receive prizes. Pizza and soft drinks will be provided. Regional results are usually in by this time but are not official until the solutions from the top 5 teams are validated by the judges, which takes a few days.

Revised 9/10/2014