You are here: Home Trustees Minutes committee personnel 2007 U of L Board of Trustees Personnel Committee Meeting

U of L Board of Trustees Personnel Committee Meeting

by Bendl,Kurt last modified Nov 08, 2009 04:57 PM

May 10, 2007

In Open Session
The Personnel Committee of the University of Louisville Board of Trustees met on Thursday, May 10, 2007, at 1:15 p.m. in the Jefferson Room of Grawemeyer Hall, Belknap Campus, with members present and absent as follows:

Present:            Mr. Grant Helman, Chair
                        Ms. Bev Daly, Vice Chair
Ms. Marie Abrams
Dr. Beth Boehm
                        Dr. Robert Curtis Hughes
                        Ms. Rebecca Jackson (arrived at 1:20 p.m.)

Absent: Ms. Margaret Handmaker

Other Trustees
Present:            Mr. Jonathan Blue
                        Mr. Ron Butt
                        Mr. Owsley B. Frazier
                        Dr. Salem George
                        Ms. Jessica Loving (departed at 1:55 p.m.)
Mr. Darrell Messer
Mr. William A. Stone

From the                                                             
University:        Dr. James R. Ramsey, President
                        Dr. Shirley Willihnganz, Executive Vice President and Provost
                        Dr. Larry Cook, Executive Vice President for Health Affairs
                        Dr. Manuel Martinez-Maldonado, Executive Vice President for Research
                        Ms. Angela D. Koshewa, University Counsel
                        Mr. Mike Curtin, Vice President for Finance
                        Mr. Larry Owlsey, Vice President for Business Affairs
                        Mr. Keith Inman, Vice President for Advancement                   
                        Dr. Tom Jackson, Jr., Vice President for Student Affairs
                        Mr. Tom Sawyer, Acting Vice President for Information Technology
                        Dr. David Howarth, Associate University Provost
                        Ms. Susan Howarth, Director of Budget
                        Mr. John Drees, Assoc. VP for Communications & Marketing
                        Ms. Terri Rutledge, Associate VP for Business Affairs
                        Ms. Cindy Hess, Director of Communications & Marketing
                        Ms. Carolyn Cochran, Provost’s Office
                        Mrs. Kathleen M. Smith, Assistant Secretary
                        Mrs. Debbie Dougherty, Board Liaison            

I.          Call to Order    at 1:16                                                             

Having determined a quorum present, Chair Helman called the meeting to order at 1:16 p.m. 

Approval of Minutes, January 11, 2007

Dr. Boehm made a motion, which Ms. Daly seconded, to approve the minutes of January 11, 2007.  The motion passed unanimously.

II.         Action Item:  Approval of Designation of Red Barn

Dr. Willihnganz said Student Government Association originated this resolution, and the University Awards and Designations Committee endorsed.  The Red Barn opened in 1969 and has served as a center of student activities since the employment of George Howe as Director of Student Activities on July 1, 1970.  The Red Barn holds approximately 700 events each year.  Thousands of former students consider their fondest memories of the university to be those spent at the Red Barn; hundreds consider Mr. Howe their role model and mentor.  Mr. Howe has received numerous UofL-related service awards presented by the University or recognized student organizations.  Dr. Willihnganz asked Mr. Messer for comment.  Mr. Messer recognized the Student Senate made the recommendation, noting it felt strongly that no other name would be appropriate for the Red Barn than George Howe.  Mr. Messer noted Mr. Howe’s tremendous commitment to the University and its student body.  Ms. Abrams made a motion, which Ms. Daly seconded to approve the

President’s recommendation that the Board of Trustees approve the designation of the Red Barn as the George J. Howe Red Barn.

The motion passed unanimously.

III.       Executive Session

Dr. Boehm made a motion, which Ms. Daly seconded, to recess the open session at 1:20 p.m. to discuss personnel matters pursuant to KRS 61.810(1)(f).  The motion passed unanimously.

IV.       Open Meeting Reconvenes                                                      


Chair Helman reconvened the open session at 1:58 p.m. and reported the Committee discussed personnel recommendations and an honorary degree nomination in executive session. 

Personnel Recommendations

Ms. Jackson made a motion, which Ms. Daly seconded, to approve the

President’s recommendation that the following personnel recommendations be approved by the Board of Trustees.


Shannon Raye Turner, J.D., University of Kentucky; Assistant Vice President for Health Affairs, July 1, 2007.  The appointment as Assistant Vice President is at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.


Manju K. Ahuja, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh; Associate Professor of Computer Information Systems, with tenure, and additional appointment as Chair of Computer Information Systems, June 1, 2007.  The appointment as Chair is at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

Michael James Barone, Ph.D., University of South Carolina; Associate Professor of Marketing, with tenure, July 1, 2007.


Rodney J. Folz, M.D., Washington University; Professor of Medicine (Respiratory, Critical Care, and Sleep Disorders Medicine), with tenure, July 1, 2007.

James Hoying, Ph.D., University of Arizona; Associate Professor of Surgery, with tenure, July 1, 2007.

Mariusz Z. Ratajczak, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Medicine (Hematology and Oncology); additional appointment as the Henry M. and Stella M. Hoenig Endowed Chair, July 1, 2007.

Stuart K. Williams, II, Ph.D., University of Delaware; Professor of Surgery, with tenure, Scientific Director of the Cardiovascular Innovation Institute and Jewish Hospital Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Innovation, July 1, 2007.

The motion passed unanimously.

Honorary Degree

Dr. Boehm made a motion, which Ms. Daly seconded, to approve the

President’s recommendation that the Board of Trustees approve the following candidate for honorary degree to be conferred by the University of Louisville. 

Prof. Reinhold W ϋerth – Doctor of Business and Humane Letters (Honoris Causa)

            The motion passed unanimously.

V.        Other Business

There was no other business.

VI.       Adjournment

Ms. Abrams made a motion, which Ms.  Daly seconded, to adjourn the meeting at 2:06 p.m.  The motion passed unanimously.


Document Actions
Personal tools