You are here: Home Trustees Minutes committee personnel 2007 U of L Board of Trustees Personnel Committee Meeting

U of L Board of Trustees Personnel Committee Meeting

by Bendl,Kurt last modified Nov 08, 2009 04:57 PM

June 14, 2007

In Open Session
The Personnel Committee of the University of Louisville Board of Trustees met on Thursday, June 14, 2007, at 1:00 p.m. in the Jefferson Room of Grawemeyer Hall, Belknap Campus, with members present and absent as follows:

Present:            Mr. Grant Helman, Chair
Dr. Beth Boehm
Ms. Margaret Handmaker
                        Dr. Robert Curtis Hughes

Absent: Ms. Marie Abrams
                        Ms. Bev Daly, Vice Chair
                        Ms. Rebecca Jackson

Other Trustees
Present:            Mr. Ulysses L. Bridgeman, Jr.
                        Mr. Owsley B. Frazier
                        Dr. Salem George
                        Mr. Brian Hoffman
                        Mr. Steve Poe
                        Mr. J. Chester Porter
                        Ms. Sandra Metts Snowden
Mr. William A. Stone

From the                                                             
University:        Dr. James R. Ramsey, President
                        Dr. Shirley Willihnganz, Executive Vice President and Provost
                        Dr. Manuel Martinez-Maldonado, Executive Vice President for Research
                        Ms. Angela D. Koshewa, University Counsel
                        Mr. Mike Curtin, Vice President for Finance
                        Mr. Larry Owlsey, Vice President for Business Affairs
                        Mr. Dan Hall, Vice President for External Affairs
                        Mr. Tom Sawyer, Acting Vice President for Information Technology
                        Ms. Susan Howarth, Director of Budget
                        Mr. John Drees, Assoc. VP for Communications & Marketing
                        Ms. Terri Rutledge, Associate VP for Business Affairs
                        Ms. Cindy Hess, Director of Communications & Marketing
                        Ms. Anne Rademaker, Manager, General Accounting & Reporting
                        Ms. Carolyn Cochran, Provost’s Office
                        Mrs. Kathleen M. Smith, Assistant Secretary
                        Mrs. Debbie Dougherty, Board Liaison            

I.          Call to Order                                                               

Having determined a quorum present, Chair Helman called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m. 

Approval of Minutes, May 10, 2007

Dr. Boehm made a motion, which Ms. Handmaker seconded, to approve the minutes of May 10, 2007.  The motion passed unanimously.

II.         Executive Session

            Dr. Boehm made a motion, which Ms. Daly seconded, to recess the open session
             at 1:08 p.m. to discuss personnel matters pursuant to KRS 61.810(1)(f).  The
             motion passed unanimously.

III.       Open Meeting Reconvenes                                                      

Chair Helman reconvened the open session at 1:15 p.m. and reported the Committee discussed personnel recommendations in executive session. 

Personnel Recommendations

Ms. Handmaker made a motion, which Ms. Daly seconded, to approve the

President’s recommendation that the following personnel recommendations be approved by the Board of Trustees:


James Michael Mardis, M.E., University of Louisville; Associate Vice President and Dean of Students, July 9, 2007.  The appointment as Associate Vice President and Dean is at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.


Eugene C. Mueller, Ph.D., Harvard University; Professor of Chemistry, with tenure, and additional appointment as the Charles L. Bloch Endowed Chair, August 1, 2007


Gary Hoyle, Ph.D., Duke University; Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, with tenure, August 1, 2007.

Susan Muldoon, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Epidemiology and Population Health (Term); additional appointment as Associate Dean for Student Affairs, August 1, 2007.  The appointment as Associate Dean is at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

The motion passed unanimously.

IV.       Other Business

There was no other business.

V.        Adjournment

Dr. Boehm made a motion, which Dr. Hughes seconded, to adjourn the meeting at 1:18 p.m.  The motion passed unanimously.


Document Actions
Personal tools